Web Site Redirect

Started by David, January 11, 2012, 11:51:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

David

here goes, I can't find a definitive answer anywhere, so you guys get it.
yeah I know, you're like a step child...  maybe with red hair, possibly left handed

If I want to redirect a web site I've done (for instance: using the url "www.mynewsite.com" to go to the real url: "http://www.asdasdasdasdasd/aaasdasdaa/fghgfghfg/login.aspx")
Do I:
1. Just make up a new url, or
2. Purchase a domain name and just not use a host since it will only be used for a redirect to an existing web site?

newbie here looking for an easy way
TIA,
David
Prepress guy - Retired - Working from home
Livin' la Vida Loca

delooch

Quote from: david on January 11, 2012, 11:51:04 AMhere goes, I can't find a definitive answer anywhere, so you guys get it.
yeah I know, you're like a step child...  maybe with red hair, possibly left handed

If I want to redirect a web site I've done (for instance: using the url "www.mynewsite.com" to go to the real url: "http://www.asdasdasdasdasd/aaasdasdaa/fghgfghfg/login.aspx")
Do I:
1. Just make up a new url, or
2. Purchase a domain name and just not use a host since it will only be used for a redirect to an existing web site?

newbie here looking for an easy way
TIA,
David

depending on who you purchased the domain name from, or whoever is currently hosting it, you maybe able to setup a redirect or forward...  at least thats how ive been doing it. my host (domainmonger.com) lets you set that up and mail forwarding through a control panel app... so i can point www.mydomain.com to whatever real URL i want..

DigiCorn

I know we did it like #2. We bought mutiple (a couple dozen, I htink) domain names from godaddy and then have them forward toward our site. Then we listed all the "phony" domain names on google to point to us.