July 28, 2014, 03:28:02 PM


Author Topic: InDesign 5.5  (Read 14925 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pspdfppdfx

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1355
  • Gender: Male
  • "We Did it in Adobe"
Re: InDesign 5.5
« Reply #15 on: June 16, 2011, 10:12:40 AM »
There may be a sober prepresser, you know. Somewhere...

I don't know where...  :laugh:

Do I qualify? I only drink at night. (all night)

Offline gnubler

  • Ninja Warlord
  • ***
  • Posts: 28243
  • Gender: Male
  • Amerkin
Re: InDesign 5.5
« Reply #16 on: June 16, 2011, 10:29:39 AM »
Is that a Canadian thing?

Oh wait, you're in prepress...nvm.
Hicks • Cross • Carlin • Kinison • Parker • Stone •  Colbert • Hedberg • Stanhope • Burr

"As much as I'd like your guns I prefer your buns." - The G

So,  :drunk3: i send the job to the rip with live transparecy (v 1.7 or whatever) and it craps out with a memory error.

Member #14 • Size 5 • PH8 Unit 7 • Paranoid Misanthropic Doomsayer • Printing & Drinking Since 1998 • doomed ©2011 david

Offline david

  • Avast! Where's me
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 12681
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
Re: InDesign 5.5
« Reply #17 on: June 16, 2011, 11:36:56 AM »
There may be a sober prepresser, you know. Somewhere...

I don't know where...  :laugh:

Do I qualify? I only drink at night. (all night)

I'm usually sober when I wake up....
Premedia Supervisor / Systems Manager
Mac -  OS X10.8.5   3.2 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon • PC - Windows 7
Esko-Artworks Suite 7 R6 • Prinergy V5.3.01 with Preps 6
HP 5000 • Epson 9900 • Epson 7900 • Kodak Approval XP • Lotem 800 Platesetters • Kodak FlexCel • Xerox 700

Offline G_Town

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 9127
  • Gender: Male
  • Aways open.
Re: InDesign 5.5
« Reply #18 on: June 16, 2011, 04:01:02 PM »
There may be a sober prepresser, you know. Somewhere...

I don't know where...  :laugh:

Do I qualify? I only drink at night. (all night)

I'm usually sober when I wake up....

Sometime I'm not :drunk3:

Offline Ear

  • a merkin
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 11739
  • Gender: Male
  • Mangy Beast of Death
Re: InDesign 5.5
« Reply #19 on: June 27, 2011, 10:23:30 AM »
Okay... one annoyance with Indy in CS 5.5... There is no progress indicator during PDF export. You don't know when the stupid thing is finished exporting... click on the PDF and says it's corrupt. Wait a minute and try again. Eventually, it finishes and opens but it's a guessing game. I have had more than one client freak out, thinking it is not exporting until I explain it to them. WTF, Adobe?!?! Fail.
my grandmother did her raccoons that way...
If someone doesn't snag this as a signature, I don't want to live in this world anymore.

Offline gnubler

  • Ninja Warlord
  • ***
  • Posts: 28243
  • Gender: Male
  • Amerkin
Re: InDesign 5.5
« Reply #20 on: June 27, 2011, 10:28:40 AM »
That sounds lame. They probably needed to use some extra ones & zeroes to program the awesome new ebook feature or whatever crap they've bundled in, so the most basic of features will suffer.
Hicks • Cross • Carlin • Kinison • Parker • Stone •  Colbert • Hedberg • Stanhope • Burr

"As much as I'd like your guns I prefer your buns." - The G

So,  :drunk3: i send the job to the rip with live transparecy (v 1.7 or whatever) and it craps out with a memory error.

Member #14 • Size 5 • PH8 Unit 7 • Paranoid Misanthropic Doomsayer • Printing & Drinking Since 1998 • doomed ©2011 david

Offline Ear

  • a merkin
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 11739
  • Gender: Male
  • Mangy Beast of Death
Re: InDesign 5.5
« Reply #21 on: June 27, 2011, 10:33:15 AM »
Ya, it's lame for sure. It seems a very retarded change to make. Maybe the guy testing the export feature only does a single page and thinks it's so lightening fast that we no longer need to see progress.  :huh: I mean, I have a new, fast puter but when you get into large page-count documents, it's always going to take some time. It feels like cooking a pizza with no timer... you just have to keep opening the oven and looking every minute or so until it's finished cooking. Again, EPIC FAIL, ADOBE!
my grandmother did her raccoons that way...
If someone doesn't snag this as a signature, I don't want to live in this world anymore.

Online Farabomb

  • When did I become a
  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 9623
  • Gender: Male
  • Remember your towel
    • My other job
Re: InDesign 5.5
« Reply #22 on: June 27, 2011, 10:36:45 AM »
Have the background tasks open. Still doesn't replace the progress bar but it will tell you when it's done.
Fbomb, Just another uncool B4 member. One of the Glorious Assholes of prepress.

Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

what's a bonus?

Most places it is pronounced "bone-us".

They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
               
                                       —Benjamin Franklin


My other job

Offline t-pat

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 5006
  • Gender: Male
  • is it Friday yet?
Re: InDesign 5.5
« Reply #23 on: June 27, 2011, 10:37:16 AM »
Okay... one annoyance with Indy in CS 5.5... There is no progress indicator during PDF export. You don't know when the stupid thing is finished exporting... click on the PDF and says it's corrupt. Wait a minute and try again. Eventually, it finishes and opens but it's a guessing game. I have had more than one client freak out, thinking it is not exporting until I explain it to them. WTF, Adobe?!?! Fail.

same in cs5. Go to window/utilities/background tasks.

The "feature" is that export is threaded and you can theoretically do other stuff while exporting, but in cs5 that has been rather sketchy ime
vdp donkey
gmc inspire • sarcasm while you wait

Offline Stiv

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1622
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm a few crows short of a murder.
Re: InDesign 5.5
« Reply #24 on: June 27, 2011, 10:40:44 AM »
So in 5.5 the show background task has been removed?

Offline Ear

  • a merkin
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 11739
  • Gender: Male
  • Mangy Beast of Death
Re: InDesign 5.5
« Reply #25 on: June 27, 2011, 10:44:29 AM »
Okay, thanks. Ya, I have seen the background task but it still kinda sucks. Messin' with people's heads it is.  :whip:
my grandmother did her raccoons that way...
If someone doesn't snag this as a signature, I don't want to live in this world anymore.

Offline TSapp

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: InDesign 5.5
« Reply #26 on: June 27, 2011, 10:45:26 AM »

Additional info on InDesign 5.5...  I just read on eCent that the new release of Darwin is going to be on July 5th.  It is InDesign CS5 compatible but will not work with 5.5.  They said they will be releasing a patch for 5.5 at a later time.


Tim

Offline DigiCorn

  • 私は〜です
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 11528
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Sig-1 Graphics
Re: InDesign 5.5
« Reply #27 on: June 27, 2011, 10:47:26 AM »
Okay, thanks. Ya, I have seen the background task but it still kinda sucks. Messin' with people's heads it is.  :whip:
It's just plain stupid is what it is. Just put the progress bar back. I always think it's done and try to close, while something is still going on. It's a big  :salute:
Canon ImagePress C6000VP • Canon ImageRunner 110 • Epson Stylus Pro 7880 • Komori Lithrone 26 6-color • Screen PlateRite 4100 • Xerox 4110

“The problem with the world is that everyone is a few drinks behind.” -Humphrey Bogart

Offline Ear

  • a merkin
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 11739
  • Gender: Male
  • Mangy Beast of Death
Re: InDesign 5.5
« Reply #28 on: June 27, 2011, 10:54:53 AM »
Indeed. I just had to help a client troubleshoot his tabloid this morning. He was all freaked out. Just upgraded to 5.5... "I can't get this GD thing to export. It takes 2 seconds to export, but I try to open and it says it's corrupt. I trash it and try again but no luck." I told him what was up and to just give it a minute. It was a 40pg, 15" tabloid, so not a small file and was taking a few minutes even on his brand new mac.

If they're going to take it away, they could have at least made the accompanying Acroshat smart enough to say, "calm the fuck down and go make yourself a bagel and a latte, your shit is still exporting" instead of simply saying, "Document is either corrupt or a format that Acrobat bla bla...". I mean, it IS the creative SUITE, is it not? By calling it a suite, I assume these programs all work in the same little office together. Can't InDesign just poke it's little artsy fartsy head over the cubicle and tell Acrobat it isn't done exporting the file yet so user doesn't freak the hell out?
my grandmother did her raccoons that way...
If someone doesn't snag this as a signature, I don't want to live in this world anymore.

Offline gnubler

  • Ninja Warlord
  • ***
  • Posts: 28243
  • Gender: Male
  • Amerkin
Re: InDesign 5.5
« Reply #29 on: June 27, 2011, 11:08:13 AM »
You're a bit wordy this morning. Have you had your latte and bagel yet?

How's the fam?
Hicks • Cross • Carlin • Kinison • Parker • Stone •  Colbert • Hedberg • Stanhope • Burr

"As much as I'd like your guns I prefer your buns." - The G

So,  :drunk3: i send the job to the rip with live transparecy (v 1.7 or whatever) and it craps out with a memory error.

Member #14 • Size 5 • PH8 Unit 7 • Paranoid Misanthropic Doomsayer • Printing & Drinking Since 1998 • doomed ©2011 david

 



anything