September 17, 2014, 08:31:23 AM


Author Topic: Plugins- CS5 cannot open file?  (Read 36292 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Grimace

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 920
  • Gender: Male
Plugins- CS5 cannot open file?
« on: December 28, 2011, 09:10:08 AM »
I got an indy file from a customer that gives me an immediate error and will not open on my machine.
First I get a you do not have the plugin "SHAREDCONTENT.RPLN"
I click okay and then get another list that I don't have and Adobe suggests that I update plugins.

FormField.InDesignPlugin
XML.InDesignPlugin
TEXT.InDesignPlugin
Hyperlinks.InDesignPlugin
DocumentFramework.InDesignPlugin
Graphics.InDesignPlugin

What gives? Is it on my end or theirs?

I'm running CS5 and the file info says CS5 as well.

Cannot open on any other computer running CS5 here either, thinking it must be customer.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2011, 09:13:58 AM by Grimace »

Online Farabomb

  • When did I become a
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 10007
  • Gender: Male
  • Remember your towel
    • My other job
Re: Plugins- CS5 cannot open file?
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2011, 09:22:10 AM »
I'll bet it's a 5.5 file.
Fbomb, Just another uncool B4 member. One of the Glorious Assholes of prepress.

Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

what's a bonus?

Most places it is pronounced "bone-us".

They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
               
                                       —Benjamin Franklin


My other job

Offline Grimace

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 920
  • Gender: Male
Re: Plugins- CS5 cannot open file?
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2011, 09:24:54 AM »
I'll bet it's a 5.5 file.

Does CS5.5 only show as a CS5 file when doing a get info on a Mac?

Offline DigiCorn

  • 私は〜です
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 12093
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Sig-1 Graphics
Re: Plugins- CS5 cannot open file?
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2011, 09:26:28 AM »
I'll bet it's a 5.5 file.

Does CS5.5 only show as a CS5 file when doing a get info on a Mac?
yup.

You got yourself a 5.5 file there, my friend.
Canon ImagePress C6000VP • Canon ImageRunner 110 • Epson Stylus Pro 7880 • Komori Lithrone 26 6-color • Screen PlateRite 4100 • Xerox 4110

“The problem with the world is that everyone is a few drinks behind.” -Humphrey Bogart

Offline Grimace

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 920
  • Gender: Male
Re: Plugins- CS5 cannot open file?
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2011, 09:28:25 AM »
Thanks, I'll have him save it down.

Online Farabomb

  • When did I become a
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 10007
  • Gender: Male
  • Remember your towel
    • My other job
Re: Plugins- CS5 cannot open file?
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2011, 09:35:02 AM »
Honestly I don't know. I haven't run across a 5.5 file in the wild yet but that error sure looks like a newer version error.

Pretty sure info will tell you it's the newest version of said software installed no matter what version it was built in.
Fbomb, Just another uncool B4 member. One of the Glorious Assholes of prepress.

Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

what's a bonus?

Most places it is pronounced "bone-us".

They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
               
                                       —Benjamin Franklin


My other job

Offline NefariousDrO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
Re: Plugins- CS5 cannot open file?
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2011, 09:47:02 AM »
That has to be one of the dumbest "features" to any of the Creative Suite apps. It doesn't tell you anything useful, so it takes running into it a few times before you figure out the problem. Adobe needs to figure out a better system for that.

Offline DigiCorn

  • 私は〜です
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 12093
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Sig-1 Graphics
Re: Plugins- CS5 cannot open file?
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2011, 09:53:42 AM »
What I hate is that on Mac, the .indd extension offers no help at all. I usually save my files .ind3, .ind4, .ind5 .ind55 etc for future reference. Also, if you MAKE the software, why have it treat leading/tracking differently so you get reflow when going between versions; Adobe, if you make the .inx/.idml a "save down" then let it open the same friggin' way as it did on the newer version without the reflow.
Canon ImagePress C6000VP • Canon ImageRunner 110 • Epson Stylus Pro 7880 • Komori Lithrone 26 6-color • Screen PlateRite 4100 • Xerox 4110

“The problem with the world is that everyone is a few drinks behind.” -Humphrey Bogart

Offline t-pat

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 5006
  • Gender: Male
  • is it Friday yet?
Re: Plugins- CS5 cannot open file?
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2011, 10:02:23 AM »
what's even more fun is that it will "lose" certain fonts when downsaved. A file with the fonts loaded the whole downsave process will ask for [fontname]BT suddenly when opened in cs3
vdp donkey
gmc inspire • sarcasm while you wait

Offline gnubler

  • Ninja Warlord
  • ***
  • Posts: 28251
  • Gender: Male
  • Amerkin
Re: Plugins- CS5 cannot open file?
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2011, 11:17:58 AM »
Sounds quarky.
Hicks • Cross • Carlin • Kinison • Parker • Stone •  Colbert • Hedberg • Stanhope • Burr

"As much as I'd like your guns I prefer your buns." - The G

So,  :drunk3: i send the job to the rip with live transparecy (v 1.7 or whatever) and it craps out with a memory error.

Member #14 • Size 5 • PH8 Unit 7 • Paranoid Misanthropic Doomsayer • Printing & Drinking Since 1998 • doomed ©2011 david

Offline Grimace

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 920
  • Gender: Male
Re: Plugins- CS5 cannot open file?
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2011, 01:07:04 PM »
Alright, I can't figure out how to save as any other version than CS5 on my machine.
I am trying to tell a new InDesign user how to save as a file I can open.

How does one save to a lower/older version of InDesign????

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 27505
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Plugins- CS5 cannot open file?
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2011, 01:10:55 PM »
Alright, I can't figure out how to save as any other version than CS5 on my machine.
I am trying to tell a new InDesign user how to save as a file I can open.

How does one save to a lower/older version of InDesign????

I think you have to export instead of Save As. Pick InDesign Markup (IDML) as the file type.
Mac OS X 10.9.4 Mavericks | Prinergy 6.0.4 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2014 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

“Simply put it is possible to have convenience if you want to tolerate insecurity, but if you want security, you must be prepared for inconvenience.” ~ General Benjamin W. Chidlaw December 12, 1954

Offline Grimace

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 920
  • Gender: Male
Re: Plugins- CS5 cannot open file?
« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2011, 01:15:56 PM »
Alright, I can't figure out how to save as any other version than CS5 on my machine.
I am trying to tell a new InDesign user how to save as a file I can open.

How does one save to a lower/older version of InDesign????

I think you have to export instead of Save As. Pick InDesign Markup (IDML) as the file type.
Thanks!
I just figured it out.... :embarrassed:

Offline NefariousDrO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
Re: Plugins- CS5 cannot open file?
« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2011, 02:03:11 PM »
what's even more fun is that it will "lose" certain fonts when downsaved. A file with the fonts loaded the whole downsave process will ask for [fontname]BT suddenly when opened in cs3

My favorite part is how each version reads font names differently. So one version sees "Times New Roman" and another sees "TimesNewRoman" and yet another sees "TimesNewRoman(truetype)" and they're all the same stinkin' font! WTF doesn't even begin to cover that stupidity.

Offline frailer

  • S W Pacific Night Mod..and..loving it! Sydney, Australia
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 10204
  • Gender: Male
  • Older, and digitally challenged
Re: Plugins- CS5 cannot open file?
« Reply #14 on: December 28, 2011, 04:11:09 PM »
The whole game is "let's go over to the counter, and ask the nice cashier to upgrade you. I'm holding a Glock in my jacket pocket, so no false moves. Smile nicely when you've paid, and we'll just leave quietly".
Fujifilm XMF/AdobeCC/PitStop Pro/Black Magic/Luxel V6 violet 'setter. 28" Komoris   |    Forgotten good guys: Dennis Ritchie, Burrell Smith, Bill Atkinson, Richard Stallman
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
When Alexander Bell invented the telephone he had three missed calls from Chuck Norris