Variable data software fav's

Started by Aaron, November 08, 2010, 12:07:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Aaron

So we might be looking into a digital press.... *cough* color copier.... that we will be running variable images and mail lists through. Most-like just mail merge onto static image.

What is everyone in love with? Printshop Mail? XMPie?

I have no experience with this category of software. Any advice would be mucho helpful.

Prinergy 6.1, UpFront, Magnus Quantum 400 , Epson 9880, Insite 7.0, Sonora

"You don't frighten us, English pig dogs. Go and boil your bottoms, you sons of a silly person. I blow my nose at you, so-called "Arthur King," you and all your silly English K-nig-hts." -- John Cleese, Monty Python and the Holy Grail

gnubler

I'm in the bottom of the barrel and am able to accomplish quite a bit with InDesign's Data Merge using a background image for static elements (so, sending 2 files to my "color copier" that get merged together for one output).

Multi-up and cut & stack is a big pain, I have to do it manually and chop up my spreadsheet files to do so.
Hicks • Cross • Carlin • Kinison • Parker • Stone •  Colbert • Hedberg • Stanhope • Burr

"As much as I'd like your guns I prefer your buns." - The G

Quote from: pspdfppdfx on December 06, 2012, 05:03:51 PM
So,  :drunk3: i send the job to the rip with live transparecy (v 1.7 or whatever) and it craps out with a memory error.

Member #14 • Size 5 • PH8 Unit 7 • Paranoid Misanthropic Doomsayer • Printing & Drinking Since 1998 • doomed ©2011 david

youston

Quote from: Aaron on November 08, 2010, 12:07:31 PMSo we might be looking into a digital press.... *cough* color copier.... that we will be running variable images and mail lists through. Most-like just mail merge onto static image.

What is everyone in love with? Printshop Mail? XMPie?

I have no experience with this category of software. Any advice would be mucho helpful.

We use XMPie. I dig it.

DCurry