FusionPro question/help

Started by DigiCorn, March 08, 2010, 10:00:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DigiCorn

Posted this over at Printables, but didn't get a response last week, so I'll post it for you guys. You're the most smatest guyses and galses I knows. Thanks in advance!

I have a job coming in that requires "random" numbering. We are quoting 16-up on an imposition, in quantities between 10,000 and 25,000. The numbering needs to be random and will be like "107A" or "327G." I thumbed through the FusionPro user's guide and did searches here on the user forum and didn't see anything like it. Is this possible with FusionPro 6?

I am a novice user of FusionPro; really all I have done is use it for sequential numbering, but I am an expert on imposition. Can the sequential numbering script be altered to random numbering or random numbering with a letter?

return Round(Math.random()*1000, 0) + Chr(Asc('A') + Math.random()*26); is what I have, but not sure it will do what I described...

From the customer: "Can fusion pro print a log of the numbers for the client to cross reference (SO that they can lookup the number and make sure the number is not a forgery)."

This log, of course, coming from the script programmed above in this thread (a random number + a random letter as a take on the "sequential" numbering feature of FusionPro).

Also, just to verify, can the client supply us with numbers in some kind of spread sheet to use instead of us generating them via fusion pro. I think that it must be a .csv file (right) from Excel with the rows and cells properly formatted so FusionPro can incorporate them correctly?

Thanks in advance!!