Master pages in Illustrator

Started by DigiCorn, July 01, 2010, 08:37:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DigiCorn

I am editing a file I just received for some business cards. Client put them 10-up on a 8.5 x 12.14 inch artboard. I want to make them on 10 3.5 x 2 pages, but since they are all common except for the names, I want to set up a master page like you could in InDesign or Freehand. I've never done it in Illustrator before; on CS3 I would make a master layer and then create each name imprint as a new layer, but with the multi page option in CS4 I thought I'd give it a whirl and use a multi-page pdf instead of saving 10 .eps files. Can you make a master page in Illy CS4?
"There's been a lot of research recently on how hard it is to dislodge an impression once it's been implanted in someone's mind. (This is why political attack ads don't have to be true to be effective. The other side can point out their inaccuracies, but the voter's mind privileges the memory of the original accusation, which was juicier than any counterargument ever could be.)"
― Johnny Carson

"Selling my soul would be a lot easier if I could just find it."
– Nikki Sixx

"Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut."
― Ernest Hemingway

David

not to be flip...

but...

ewwww

why not do it in Indesign?
Prepress guy - Retired - Working from home
Livin' la Vida Loca

DigiCorn

all fonts are created as outlines so i'd have to retypeset everything. if i were to export as .eps to place in ID, i'd be doing the very thing i'm trying to avoid - exporting 10 .eps files, or i'd have to export one .eps and then try to align it properly when placing in ID 10 times.