Create outline 1/4" away from image?

Started by Clever Endeavor, March 21, 2012, 09:53:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Clever Endeavor

Good morning all!

We're making print & cut vinyl, and we need a white border about .25" around the outside of the objects. I've included a screenshot of what I'm looking at. I need the white (background) to trace around the tree and the totalscape. I can draw it with the pen, but it's not going to look right. Is there a trick in  the pathfinder tool or something similar that will help keep these outlines uniform?

Thank you very much!

I'm still an illustrator noob. InDesign, no problem, but AI is apparently my nemesis. I lose battles all the time.

Blake

t-pat

try outlining it with the pen tool as you say, as best as you can. Then offset the stroke, and simplify it smooth or use the smooth tool. HTH
vdp donkey
gmc inspire • sarcasm while you wait

beermonster

copy everything, make a new layer under all that lot, put all the copied stuff on the new layer, merge it all with pathfinder, give it a white stroke width of your choice

since it's now a single shape and underneath the maingraphics, half of the stroke width will be visible - increase or decrease as required

to be able to "see" it, make yet another layer, put it under the new white layer, draw a big box and fill with say blue and your white stroke will be visible. lock the new blue box layer and the top graphic layer/layers and leave the white stroke layer active for easy editing of the white stroke

hope this helps
Leave me here in my - stark raving sick sad little world

Skryber

Select only the parts of the image that will have the border with the direct selection tool. Go to Appearance and in the menu area select add new stroke. Then effect-path-outline object. Then you can change stroke weight and such.