News:

Main Menu

New Press

Started by pabney, July 08, 2019, 10:02:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

pabney

Hello,
Last week the boss went to look at a press that we may buy. It is currently using Heidelberg Prinect to set up the ink keys and other settings on the press.
I assume that this system uses JDF for these settings. We are using XMF and I think that it can handle JDF export, but I have no experience in this at all.
Can anyone give me a bit of insight on what is required for this? Is a license required on XMF? Would we need something different from Heidelberg (we are not getting the Prinect system with the press)? Any and all information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Paul

Nate

I'm not familiar with Prinect, but I do run XMF. No JDF here though.

How are you handling ink presetting currently? We output a raster PDF of the final imposition and send that to an old Harlequin RIP that turns it into CIP3 data for the press.

scottrsimons

We don't have XMF, but we run Printflow DC to get CIP3 data from Prinergy to our Heidelberg, and then use a Xrite scanner to read the keys, and all is tied together. Printflow's support is really good, if you need them. Even without a support contract.
"Your superior intellect is no match for our puny weapons!" - Homer J. Simpson

pabney

AT this point we do not use any kind of ink presetting. Everything is done by the pressman.
It may stay that way even with the new press depending on what it would cost for us to automate this. The boss was asking what would be required to set the press ink, guides, etc like the current owners are doing now with Prinect. Way out of my league at the moment. Will get a call into Fuji tomorrow and find out what they say.

andyfest