Trendsetter or Screen?

Started by Farabomb, April 09, 2015, 09:30:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Farabomb

We have been having more and more issues with our platesetter and it is quite old. I may have convinved the boss that a new, used one might be a good idea. We have a guy that we buy a lot of equipment from that has a trendsetter. There is also a local guy that has a screen device. Both are about the same price and age. If you had the choice, what one would you go with?

I have limited experience with the trendsetter back when we were using it for proofing and it had issues. I'd have to assume it's more refined now but it is a Kodak device so money could have been not allocated to developing the device.

Screen is rebadged by everyone and their mother and is in a lot of shops. Everyone I talk to says that's the one to get, even salesmen.

Now, to the people in the trenches, what is the real story. I expect there to be minor issues with any device but if you had to choose, what one would you pick and why?

I expect I can have E Z High-tec service either one without issue but I expect I will be the one making the first fix attempt.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear on April 06, 2016, 11:54:16 AM
Quote from: Farabomb on April 06, 2016, 11:39:41 AMIt's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

born2print

Our Trendsetters have served us very well, fwiw.
My lips are moving and the sound's coming out
The words are audible but I have my doubts
That you realize what has been said

Farabomb