Harlequin RIP with Palladio platesetter

Started by DigiCorn, November 19, 2012, 11:16:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DigiCorn

Just got a call from a guy this morning who bought the 60mw laser from the old shop I worked at to replace his 5mw. He's running a Harlequin which I have NO experience with. He says before everything ran fine, but now he gets banding in screens, AND he gets an elongated dot on his CMY plates, but K is just perfect. Running Agfa plates.

I don't know how I became the Sacramento area Palladio expert, but this is now the fourth different shop that has called me looking for advice. He did clean the optics and mirrors, so I know it's not dust. I told him it sounds to me like the laser wasn't focused properly when replaced - he did it himself, and did not have Agfa do it.

I told him to run a set of linear plates at 5% intervals from 0 - 100% and then read them with a dot reader and tell me what he gets.

I really have no idea what might be causing this. Any ideas?
"There's been a lot of research recently on how hard it is to dislodge an impression once it's been implanted in someone's mind. (This is why political attack ads don't have to be true to be effective. The other side can point out their inaccuracies, but the voter's mind privileges the memory of the original accusation, which was juicier than any counterargument ever could be.)"
― Johnny Carson

"Selling my soul would be a lot easier if I could just find it."
– Nikki Sixx

"Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut."
― Ernest Hemingway

Duffy

If it was focus, none of the plates would image correctly...you said the K plate is fine.

Sounds like a setting in the RIP more than anything else, have him change the RIP to output all four plates on the K setting and see if the elongation is gone - or image a composite greyscale of it.

Banding depends alot upon direction, it could anything from plate size, to vacuum to ????