I've had it with Font Book

Started by Lammy, May 17, 2012, 04:59:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lammy

At home I have a shiny new iMac, but since that's about the extent of my budget I've been trying to scrape along with the built in font book. I didn't even make it a full year. It sucks, it's slow, there is no good way to turn on and off large groups of fonts if they aren't all in the same set, it's slow, it sucks, it give all sorts of errors not to use fonts that are perfectly fine, it's slow, it sucks, did I mention it's slow?

I'm very used to Suitcase, but it's on the very pricey side for "at home" stuff. I don't find any free apps that look trustworthy or any better than font book.  :puke:  This leaves me with Font Explorer and Font Agent. I've had no experience with Font Agent and very little, and not very good, experience with Font Explorer. Of the three what do you recommend? Is the extra price worth it for Suitcase since I have very little bad to say about it?
Lammy ~ Everyone says a monkey can do it, but no one ever asks the monkey!

72+ cases - wood & metal type & sorts • LInotype Model 31 • Hohner B tabletop • Golding #7 Jobber • ATF Little Giant • Heidelberg S Cylinder

Joe

I still use the free version of Linotype Font Explorer. Works great for me.

We had some copies of Font Agent Pro and it worked good but we never upgraded since, at the time, Font Explorer was free.

Manually moving fonts to and from the Users/~/Library/Fonts folder is a free option as well and the fonts work across all applications. If you are just using InDesign you can put them in InDesign fonts folder and they will work fine but only in InDesign. Or in 5.5 and later you can put them in the Document Fonts folder in the same folder where your InDesign document lives and InDesign will find them there too.
Mac OS Sonoma 14.2.1 (c) | (retired)

The seven ages of man: spills, drills, thrills, bills, ills, pills and wills.

Lammy