Photoshop curves help... puh puh please.

Started by baker7, November 30, 2015, 12:21:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

baker7

Ok.  I'm a total newbie that got hired by a sublimation company with a Lotem 800, Mutoh digital printer and harmony prinergy workflow that are all out of sync.  When I match colors from sample to Mutoh, then make plates most of the colors are off.  And when I make adjustments to the curve in Harmony a lot of the time it's inconsistent and a lot of the time there's no change. 

To further complicate the issue I don't know what I'm doing!!  I  have an art background but this is first time doing prepress Photoshop manipulation.  I've been resorting to making individual layers for colors that need adjusting using Channel Mixer.  I know I should probably be using Curves to adjust the colors but other colors and tones get affected, for example if I raise the dark red tone the medium tone get raised slightly.  Is there a specific way I need to manipulate the curves?

Also we have one client that uses very heavy ink in their Mutoh printer so instead of a usual color shift between our printer and their's, the image is totally different, for example all the colors are off in the opposite direction (dark yellow is too dark, lighter yellow is too light, medium value is too dark or light) and gradients are a nightmare.  For one job I had made 80 layer separation for each individual colors and shades of each color.

The owner is going crazy cuz it's taking so long to do a single job and he's wasting so much plates, paper and ink, and the look in his eyes sometimes...  :strangle:  Harmony curve matching is a whole another issue, but I need to figure Photoshop out first!! Please hep meh..

Farabomb