Yours Truly Designer for HP Indigo

Started by Lefkoff, September 11, 2008, 08:47:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lefkoff

I work as a designer for an ad agency. We do not do any variable date printing yet. I'm surprised that we haven't done any. Anyway, I was at our print shop the other day doing a press check and went through the prepress department. They were setting up an InDesign CS3 document to be printed on an Indigo using HP's Yours Truly Designer plug-in for InDesign.

Where could I learn more about Your Truly Designer? I have tried the HP site, but it sucks. It is impossible to find anything of value on it. Since I think variable data is the future, like it or not, I would at least like to learn more about it. Any help would be appreciated.

PrepressCrapFixer

When we bought our Indigo about 4 years ago, they sent me to Boston for training on Yours Truly Designer which was helpful since the user guide is quite difficult to follow unless you have some knowledge of VDP.  I have a PDF of the user guide for version 6.5 which probably won't be much help for you at this point.  You might try http://www.dscoop.org/ which has a discussion forum for HP Indigo users.  You should have gotten a user name and password from HP when you bought the press. 

Personally I don't like YTD.  Shortly after we started doing VDP jobs we bought a copy of FusionPro so we could work on some files that originated from Indesign. (when we started they didn't have an Indy pluggin yet) I really liked it and haven't used YTD for quite some time now.  I would suggest you check into FusionPro as an alternative to YTD.  Go here:  http://www.printable.com/solutions/fusionpro/

I hope this helps,
macOSX 12.7 Monterey • Prinergy 10 • Adobe Creative Cloud 2022 • Q800 Trendsetter w/ MCU • Epson Sure Color P7000

Slappy