News:

Main Menu

PDF Print Engine

Started by Falstaff, August 25, 2009, 07:13:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Falstaff

Does Rampage use the Adobe PDF Print Engine?

I didn't find Rampage on the Adobe site as a partner. What RIP is Rampage based on?

MacTwidget

Rampage has implemented the APPE (Adobe PDF Print Engine) into it's RIPs. It also still has the capability for PS Level 3.
Rampage RIPs are not based upon any other RIP technology, they are their own entity.
I've been using Rampage for over 5 years now and just recently started moving over to the PDF workflow....it is freakin' awesome.

Falstaff

Thanks for the quick response.

I have been assigned the task of reviewing the current workflow.
Rampage 10.6 - ROOM, EPS/PDF, & OPI.

We have been requesting PDF v1.3 or original docs to EPS w/OPI.

PDF 1.4 has not been officially adopted but clients are using it. They are also using High Quality Print & Press Quality but the Output tab with the Color settings are giving me headaches.

What have you settled on?

WharfRat

I was under the impression
Rampage wrote it's own PDF engine
and did not incorporate the Adobe PDF engine ...
and thusly was still designed with "workarounds".

I would like to hear about this.
I was a Rampager for 8 years before I went with
a full Heidelberg workflow.
I won't get into how solid that is, now.

MSD

Marktonk

I was curious and went to the Rampage website. They do have a trapping module that traps transparency but nowhere could I find that they use APPE. I would suggest you call Rampage and ask if they do use Adobe PDF Print Engine....I am under the impression they do not, if they did, wouldn't they publicize it?

Regards,

Mark
Mark Tonkovich
Heidelberg USA

johnny_jay

We have just converted from Rampage to Prinergy and always had trouble with trap with Rampage. I am pretty sure that WharfRat is correct and Rampage wrote their own code. I think I may have read something to that extent on the "dark forum".