Recent

Author Topic: Mapping Spot Colors in Rip  (Read 3214 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lammy

  • Prepress Monkey
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Gender: Male
  • Ad artem artium conservatricem conservandam
    • 918 Printery
Mapping Spot Colors in Rip
« on: October 22, 2012, 04:24:32 PM »
I have a single color job with Pantone 871. The color bar has a spot color named, oddly enough, "Spot 1". I cannot for the life of me get this color from the color bar to show up on the plate for 871. I'm only looking at the separation preview and not actually making a plate. One I don't want to waste a plate just to find out it didn't work, and two shouldn't the separation preview show everything that's going to plate any who. It does on process work.
Lammy ~ Everyone says a monkey can do it, but no one ever asks the monkey!

72+ cases - wood & metal type & sorts • LInotype Model 31 • Hohner B tabletop • Golding #7 Jobber • ATF Little Giant • Heidelberg S Cylinder

Offline Lammy

  • Prepress Monkey
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Gender: Male
  • Ad artem artium conservatricem conservandam
    • 918 Printery
Re: Mapping Spot Colors in Rip
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2012, 04:35:01 PM »
Still not sure how to do it, but this particular job magically fixed itself after I edited the imposition and submitted it again.
Lammy ~ Everyone says a monkey can do it, but no one ever asks the monkey!

72+ cases - wood & metal type & sorts • LInotype Model 31 • Hohner B tabletop • Golding #7 Jobber • ATF Little Giant • Heidelberg S Cylinder

Online born2print

  • Post count: purtygood
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 12969
  • Gender: Male
  • Gender: undisclosed
Re: Mapping Spot Colors in Rip
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2012, 05:09:07 PM »
Weird one, but as I like to say, all's well that ends well.
Hopefully I won't be there, I should be in recovery from  knee replacement surgery.

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17259
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: Mapping Spot Colors in Rip
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2012, 10:27:21 AM »
In Prinergy EVO I have to manually map the spot color to the bar or it won't show up. Prinergy also likes to forget this mapping if I resubmit from the VPS to plating at times so I always try to look but I have been bit. See if there is a mapping option when you send it to plate.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Offline DigiCorn

  • Terrorizing humans since 1971
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 16025
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Clerks.
  • Gender: undisclosed
Re: Mapping Spot Colors in Rip
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2012, 12:55:15 PM »
Lammy, you have Rampage, right? Spot 1, I believe, comes from using a rsi_coloralias spot color in your bar saved as an .eps and then plopped in to Preps. It's supposed to map to the Pantone/spot color and take it's definition, but I've seen it not do this from time to time... usually when I put a spot color bar in a cmyk job, or the color bar has multiple rsi_coloraliases and not enough spots to use them all.
"Selling my soul would be a lot easier if I could just find it."
– Nikki Sixx

“Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”
― Ernest Hemingway

Offline Lammy

  • Prepress Monkey
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Gender: Male
  • Ad artem artium conservatricem conservandam
    • 918 Printery
Re: Mapping Spot Colors in Rip
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2012, 02:48:44 PM »
Nope, lost my RAMpage about 3 years ago now. Had to deal with a Xitron rip and Platesetter 2000 until recently. Now I'm back with the big boys, Apogee Prepress, Thermal plates, Epson proofer, and a 29" 4 color press  :banana: :banana:
Lammy ~ Everyone says a monkey can do it, but no one ever asks the monkey!

72+ cases - wood & metal type & sorts • LInotype Model 31 • Hohner B tabletop • Golding #7 Jobber • ATF Little Giant • Heidelberg S Cylinder