Recent

Author Topic: Adding CNAME  (Read 3084 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Slappy

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4382
  • Gender: Male
  • Come On. Fhqwhgads.
  • Gender: genderless
Adding CNAME
« on: February 15, 2016, 03:37:59 PM »
We're changing hosts (finally) for our client StoreFronts and want to use redirects from our main branded/hosted site to the StoreFront company's individual subdomains. I've found how to add a CNAME in the main host & point it to the horribly long StoreFront location, how long should it typically take to become active though? I'd thought it would be instantaneous but when I hit the redirect URL, it comes up as Not Available.

I'm also assuming I even can redirect from ourcompanyname.com to ReallyLongStoreFrontHostingCompanySubdomain.com.
A little diddie ‘bout black 'n cyan...two reflective colors doin’ the best they can.

Offline Slappy

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4382
  • Gender: Male
  • Come On. Fhqwhgads.
  • Gender: genderless
Re: Adding CNAME
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2016, 04:22:45 PM »
Quote
Nameserver changes can typically take 0 to 24 hours to take effect, but they are known to take as long as 48 hours to go into full effect. DNS zone record changes such as A, MX and CNAME records can typically take 0 to 4 hours to resolve but are known to take as long as 8 hours to fully propagate.


Well, thank you - Internet!
A little diddie ‘bout black 'n cyan...two reflective colors doin’ the best they can.

Offline David

  • WTF?
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 15742
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
  • Gender: genderless
Re: Adding CNAME
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2016, 04:33:55 PM »
you're welcome...

:toaster:
Prepress guy - doin' jobs one at a time
www.texasgraphics.com

Online born2print

  • Post count: purtygood
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 12969
  • Gender: Male
  • Gender: undisclosed
Re: Adding CNAME
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2016, 04:34:53 PM »
I'm glad you found answers, cause I was all like this:
Hopefully I won't be there, I should be in recovery from  knee replacement surgery.

Offline Slappy

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4382
  • Gender: Male
  • Come On. Fhqwhgads.
  • Gender: genderless
Re: Adding CNAME
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2016, 11:33:13 PM »
Grrrrrrr, it's still not resolving to the URL it's supposed to - may have *gasp* Read the Documentation!!  :o
A little diddie ‘bout black 'n cyan...two reflective colors doin’ the best they can.

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17259
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: Adding CNAME
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2016, 09:06:54 AM »
RTFM.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 38779
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
  • Gender: male
Re: Adding CNAME
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2016, 09:21:12 AM »
Quote from: Slappy date=1455683593 link=msg=277114

Grrrrrrr, it's still not resolving to the URL it's supposed to - may have *gasp* Read the Documentation!!  :o


Do you have a CPanel where you just tell what domain to re-direct to the long domain name. It takes care of all the CNAME crap behind the scenes. Editing the text files is easy to get it bungled up.
Mac OS 11.5.2 Big Sur | Prinergy 9.0.1.125 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2021 | TWO Fuji CTP Units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew

Offline Slappy

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4382
  • Gender: Male
  • Come On. Fhqwhgads.
  • Gender: genderless
Re: Adding CNAME
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2016, 08:27:15 PM »
I do, that's where I was doing the CNAME business. Noticed to day there's a Redirect options which should be a LOT simpler but it won't write to the .htaccess file and I'm not comfortable messing around under the hood. I've got a call in to our Web support folks, there must be more going on than I see.
A little diddie ‘bout black 'n cyan...two reflective colors doin’ the best they can.

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 38779
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
  • Gender: male
Re: Adding CNAME
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2016, 09:16:44 PM »
FTP in and make sure the file permissions for the .htaccess file os 0644. It should be able to write to it after that unless your host is doing something silly.
Mac OS 11.5.2 Big Sur | Prinergy 9.0.1.125 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2021 | TWO Fuji CTP Units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew

Offline Slappy

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4382
  • Gender: Male
  • Come On. Fhqwhgads.
  • Gender: genderless
Re: Adding CNAME
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2016, 10:15:02 PM »
I won't even go into wtf was being done, I think with some external help it's all worked out though. Why the hell they insist on having the prepress folks screw around with critical systems like web services when we already have IT people on contract is beyond me. But hey, you say "Push the button!!" and I'll always ask "How hard, boss??"
A little diddie ‘bout black 'n cyan...two reflective colors doin’ the best they can.