Compensating for Dot Gain

Started by Roxy, February 28, 2008, 01:09:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Roxy

Hi,

I'm kinda new to this and prepress as a whole. I come from a graphic design background but have recently moved into more of a prepress capacity. Can anyone shed some light on how I might compensate for Dot Gain on a Harlequin 7.0 RIP? We've established how much gain by printing a test strip but now I'd like to know how to input this into the RIP such that it makes the adjustments?

Roxy :huh:

G_Town

Quote from: Roxy on February 28, 2008, 01:09:17 PMHi,

I'm kinda new to this and prepress as a whole. I come from a graphic design background but have recently moved into more of a prepress capacity. Can anyone shed some light on how I might compensate for Dot Gain on a Harlequin 7.0 RIP? We've established how much gain by printing a test strip but now I'd like to know how to input this into the RIP such that it makes the adjustments?

Roxy :huh:

It's been years since I used a Harly but I think it's just a matter of coming up with a Look up table to adjust for dot gain.

Someone will be with you shortly who can answer more specifically.

Joe

We don't use a Harlequin but we adjust our plate curve for it.
Mac OS Sonoma 14.2.1 (c) | (retired)

The seven ages of man: spills, drills, thrills, bills, ills, pills and wills.

DigitalCrapShoveler

My manager is very anti-plate curves, or RIP curves for that matter. I end up doing a lot of curve corrections depending on press in PS. I hate it, but I don't make the decisions.
Member #285 - Civilian

Roxy

I see the "table" on the RIP.