Recent

Author Topic: Default Spot Screen Angle  (Read 5810 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline born2print

  • Post count: purtygood
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 12768
  • Gender: Male
  • Gender: undisclosed
Re: Default Spot Screen Angle
« Reply #30 on: March 11, 2021, 01:36:25 PM »
Wait, so they are implying that your image has the moiré before their RIP.
Maybe so if a rescreen...
but a monitor has a pixel resolution that can mesh (or mis-mesh) with the copydot scan and have a moiré - ok fine...
but that is an entirely different thing than an imagesetter resolution mis-mesh.
I am skeptical, if your image had the moiré already, it might view at more than just 1 specific scale on the screen...
and wasn't it a copydot? IMO, a copydot can't have a moiré in it - that's the point of it... so that would imply the image got ruined in their RIP.
Furthermore, I got the impression that you do this often and without issues until it went to a vendor?
:homer:
He stated their PDF's are 99.9% accurate and I replied we prefer 100% accuracy.

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 38491
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
  • Gender: male
Re: Default Spot Screen Angle
« Reply #31 on: March 11, 2021, 01:46:50 PM »
Ok their image setter is at 2500, thanks guys
I would not have known to ask this.

Their prepress is telling me if you open up the image in photoshop at 89% you will see the moire  :laugh:

1st off they should have their a$$ kicked for opening a perfectly good PDF in Photoshop.
Mac OS 11.4 Big Sur | Prinergy 9.0.1 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2021 | TWO Fuji CTP Units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 38491
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
  • Gender: male
Re: Default Spot Screen Angle
« Reply #32 on: March 11, 2021, 01:48:07 PM »
Ok their image setter is at 2500, thanks guys
I would not have known to ask this.

Their prepress is telling me if you open up the image in photoshop at 89% you will see the moire  :laugh:

And also...2500 / 1200 = 2.083333333333333 - moire.
Mac OS 11.4 Big Sur | Prinergy 9.0.1 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2021 | TWO Fuji CTP Units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew

Offline born2print

  • Post count: purtygood
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 12768
  • Gender: Male
  • Gender: undisclosed
Re: Default Spot Screen Angle
« Reply #33 on: March 11, 2021, 01:51:21 PM »
2500 / 1200 = 2.083333333333333 - moire.
BOOM! :drop the mic:
He stated their PDF's are 99.9% accurate and I replied we prefer 100% accuracy.

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 38491
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
  • Gender: male
Re: Default Spot Screen Angle
« Reply #34 on: March 11, 2021, 01:54:02 PM »
Wait, so they are implying that your image has the moiré before their RIP.
Maybe so if a rescreen...
but a monitor has a pixel resolution that can mesh (or mis-mesh) with the copydot scan and have a moiré - ok fine...
but that is an entirely different thing than an imagesetter resolution mis-mesh.
I am skeptical, if your image had the moiré already, it might view at more than just 1 specific scale on the screen...
and wasn't it a copydot? IMO, a copydot can't have a moiré in it - that's the point of it... so that would imply the image got ruined in their RIP.
Furthermore, I got the impression that you do this often and without issues until it went to a vendor?
:homer:

You can see a moire in any screened image in photoshop if you view at a certain size which has nothing to do with outputting the file. It's just a weird pattern on the monitor at that point.

Scale it to 1,250 dpi and it would output perfectly at 2500. And 2500 is weird resolution. Most high end output devices are 2400 or 2540. I think the 2540 is what most filmsetters were at back in the day.

Our old Luscher platesetters wouldn't allow us to change resolutions. Everything had to be at 2400 dpi or would scale the image. We have two new ones now, a Fuji Javelin and a Screen Ultima so I'm not sure if we could change the resolution now or not. We just run everything at 2400.

And it may actually be the workflow that rescreens the screen when it is screening the one bit tiff. It's been awhile ago since I had to deal with stuff like this.
Mac OS 11.4 Big Sur | Prinergy 9.0.1 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2021 | TWO Fuji CTP Units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 38491
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
  • Gender: male
Re: Default Spot Screen Angle
« Reply #35 on: March 11, 2021, 01:57:05 PM »
If you take that image and upscale it to 2500 in Photoshop you will see moire at several different magnification values. But at 100% you never see the moire.
Mac OS 11.4 Big Sur | Prinergy 9.0.1 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2021 | TWO Fuji CTP Units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew

Offline david

  • WTF?
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 15676
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
  • Gender: undisclosed
Re: Default Spot Screen Angle
« Reply #36 on: March 11, 2021, 02:04:39 PM »
where did they get a setter that has a 2500 res output?

never seen one of those.

 :drunk3:
Prepress guy - doin' jobs one at a time
www.texasgraphics.com

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 38491
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
  • Gender: male
Re: Default Spot Screen Angle
« Reply #37 on: March 11, 2021, 02:06:25 PM »
where did they get a setter that has a 2500 res output?

never seen one of those.

 :drunk3:

Somebody probably got a deal...

 :facepalm:
Mac OS 11.4 Big Sur | Prinergy 9.0.1 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2021 | TWO Fuji CTP Units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 8221
  • Gender: Female
Re: Default Spot Screen Angle
« Reply #38 on: March 11, 2021, 02:07:46 PM »
You guys are priceless! seriously, I got to go into the meeting knowing what I was talking about
and yes we have printed this for 15 years various presses and vendors, I made a plate this morning
to take to the meeting with me, it was good to have all my ducks in a row.

I know I was asking the guy, "why are you opening it in photoshop"
he was trying to prove his moire point

It's an AGFA, curious if they just got it or something, they would not hear about the resolution until
I got to speak to the prepress manager, he said he would look into it.

so we cannot have them print this job there anymore, It's a pretty big job too
12 different forms, usually pretty big runs
Customer hasn't seen it yet, run was kind of large so it may take awhile for them to catch it.

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 38491
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
  • Gender: male
Re: Default Spot Screen Angle
« Reply #39 on: March 11, 2021, 02:43:19 PM »
Change resolution to 1250 with Pitstop on the globe image. Have them test a new plate at 2500 dpi. My money, though I have none, says that it will look fine.
Mac OS 11.4 Big Sur | Prinergy 9.0.1 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2021 | TWO Fuji CTP Units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 8221
  • Gender: Female
Re: Default Spot Screen Angle
« Reply #40 on: March 12, 2021, 10:52:30 AM »
ok I will let them know! not sure if they are interested but I will try

I learned so much from this too!