Recent

Author Topic: Esko Imaging Engine - anyone have it?  (Read 3281 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline andyfest

  • Know your role and shut your hole...
  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1609
  • Gender: Male
  • 100% Canucklehead
Esko Imaging Engine - anyone have it?
« on: October 30, 2014, 03:55:45 PM »
We just renewed our software (Nexus, etc) support contract for another year with Esko. After receiving an email thanking us, the email went on to say "Just to let you know, the new Imaging Engine has been released. This is an upgrade included in your support contract....". Are there any Esko users out there that employ this software? From what I could find on the net, it's more for flexo than offset, but can be utilized for both. It's also based on APPE, rather than Esko's previous stand-alone solutions. Any info would be welcome. 
Fairly recent Adobe Creative Cloud, Versa RIPs, Flexi Cut RIP, couple of Roland wide format printers, Seal 60+ laminator + another old laminator that I hate, vinyl cutter and knives....lots of knives

Offline david

  • WTF?
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 15676
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
Re: Esko Imaging Engine - anyone have it?
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2014, 04:33:57 PM »
not me, I still use Suite 7
Prepress guy - doin' jobs one at a time
www.texasgraphics.com

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 38490
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Esko Imaging Engine - anyone have it?
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2014, 05:55:54 PM »
I don't use Nexus anymore but I think going with 'real' APPE is a good thing.
Mac OS 11.4 Big Sur | Prinergy 9.0.1 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2021 | TWO Fuji CTP Units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew

Offline G_Town

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 9247
  • Gender: Male
  • Aways open.
Re: Esko Imaging Engine - anyone have it?
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2014, 01:19:36 PM »
We are scheduled to be installed middle of 2015, company still testing it.

I'm more interested in the unified editor that's rumored to be coming at about the same time.

Neo sucks Donkey.........s

Offline andyfest

  • Know your role and shut your hole...
  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1609
  • Gender: Male
  • 100% Canucklehead
Re: Esko Imaging Engine - anyone have it?
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2014, 03:57:05 PM »
Quote from: G_Town link=msg=263653 date=1418840376

We are scheduled to be installed middle of 2015, company still testing it.

I'm more interested in the unified editor that's rumored to be coming at about the same time.

Neo sucks Donkey.........s
Because it is offered as a free upgrade, I'm curious. So if you can shed any light on the good/bad points of Imaging Engine as you test I'd be interested in your feedback. We're still using v10.1.3 Nexus Classic front end + pdf RIP backend.
Fairly recent Adobe Creative Cloud, Versa RIPs, Flexi Cut RIP, couple of Roland wide format printers, Seal 60+ laminator + another old laminator that I hate, vinyl cutter and knives....lots of knives

Offline G_Town

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 9247
  • Gender: Male
  • Aways open.
Re: Esko Imaging Engine - anyone have it?
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2017, 01:40:49 PM »
Version 16 running now. Chews through files Nexus would choke on.

So far so good.


Offline andyfest

  • Know your role and shut your hole...
  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1609
  • Gender: Male
  • 100% Canucklehead
Re: Esko Imaging Engine - anyone have it?
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2017, 03:51:57 PM »
Thx G - good to know. We just got pricing for the upgrade. What was the learning curve like going Nexus > AE?
Fairly recent Adobe Creative Cloud, Versa RIPs, Flexi Cut RIP, couple of Roland wide format printers, Seal 60+ laminator + another old laminator that I hate, vinyl cutter and knives....lots of knives

Offline G_Town

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 9247
  • Gender: Male
  • Aways open.
Re: Esko Imaging Engine - anyone have it?
« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2017, 02:32:45 PM »
Quote from: andyfest link=msg=289424 date=1490125917

Thx G - good to know. We just got pricing for the upgrade. What was the learning curve like going Nexus > AE?


It's just a lot different as far as setting up workflows, fortunately we have a guy in the corporation that's had plenty of time to play with it. All about smart names.

Offline Possum

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4726
  • Gender: Female
Re: Esko Imaging Engine - anyone have it?
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2017, 02:37:47 PM »
Hi, G Town. Come back more often, we miss you.
I have an iPhone but I don't have it on me. I don't take any f#%$ing pictures. I don't text. I don't e-mail. I don't do any of that s**t. - Tony Beets

Offline G_Town

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 9247
  • Gender: Male
  • Aways open.
Re: Esko Imaging Engine - anyone have it?
« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2017, 01:27:35 PM »
Quote from: Possum link=msg=289889 date=1491849467

Hi, G Town. Come back more often, we miss you.


Aww shucks...