Recent Topics

Author Topic: sending pdfs to Konica 1070  (Read 4030 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online pspdfppdfxhd

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3094
  • Gender: Male
  • Gender: undisclosed
sending pdfs to Konica 1070
« on: May 10, 2017, 07:40:44 AM »
When sending pdfs to our new Konica (which works great by the way for the operator) we're experiencing problems sending pdfs through the hot folder.

On our old Konica, with a proper rip (creo) we did not have this problem. It centered every pdf regardless if it had marks or not. The new Konica does not have a proper rip as it was deemed too expensive.

For instance, if i send an 8.5 x 11 pdf with crop marks to it, it will not center the pdf on the page properly, ie. not backup right. It's treating the pdf as 11.75 x 9.375 or whatever the original with marks was. Even when I crop the pdf down to 8.5 x 11 with Acrobat or Quite Imposing. So... it has to be imported into Indesign and exported with no marks, bleeds etc. what a pain in the butt.

I am pretty sure it has something to do with page boxes, trim boxes, etc. If there was a setting to this on the Konica to center PDFs would be the best solution.

Any help appreciated.

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17259
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: sending pdfs to Konica 1070
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2017, 08:42:31 AM »
Quote from: pspdfppdfxhd link=msg=290667 date=1494416444

When sending pdfs to our new Konica (which works great by the way for the operator) we're experiencing problems sending pdfs through the hot folder.

On our old Konica, with a proper rip (creo) we did not have this problem. It centered every pdf regardless if it had marks or not. The new Konica does not have a proper rip as it was deemed too expensive.

For instance, if i send an 8.5 x 11 pdf with crop marks to it, it will not center the pdf on the page properly, ie. not backup right. It's treating the pdf as 11.75 x 9.375 or whatever the original with marks was. Even when I crop the pdf down to 8.5 x 11 with Acrobat or Quite Imposing. So... it has to be imported into Indesign and exported with no marks, bleeds etc. what a pain in the butt.

I am pretty sure it has something to do with page boxes, trim boxes, etc. If there was a setting to this on the Konica to center PDFs would be the best solution.

Any help appreciated.


I've highlighted your problem. Never cut corners on a production machine, it WILL cost you more in the end. There is likely a real impo system in the real RIP but the bean counters didn't think it important. I'll ask my copier repair friend and see if he knows anything.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Online Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 38863
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
  • Gender: male
Re: sending pdfs to Konica 1070
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2017, 08:44:29 AM »
Can't help you with Konica but yes it is using the media box. Proven by the fact when you make a new PDF from Indesign and output it at either bleed or trim size which also makes the media size it centers correctly. What application creates the originals? Easy fix barring a setting on the Konica is to edit the page boxes with Pitstop. It is pretty easy to create an action to change media and crop boxes to the size off bleed/trim. You might even be able to create a preflight profile to do it using variables so it prompts you as it runs to enter the size width and height you need the page boxes to be. That way you can create one profile to use for any size.
Mac OS 11.5.2 Big Sur | Prinergy 9.0.1.125 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2021 | TWO Fuji CTP Units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew

Online Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 38863
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
  • Gender: male
Re: sending pdfs to Konica 1070
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2017, 08:47:33 AM »
Quote from: Farabomb date=1494420151 link=msg=290671

I've highlighted your problem. Never cut corners on a production machine, it WILL cost you more in the end. There is likely a real impo system in the real RIP but the bean counters didn't think it important. I'll ask my copier repair friend and see if he knows anything.


Agreed. On our latest color copier we got a Fiery RIP. You can get the RIP with APPE added for an additional $25,000. Guess which one we got?
Mac OS 11.5.2 Big Sur | Prinergy 9.0.1.125 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2021 | TWO Fuji CTP Units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17259
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: sending pdfs to Konica 1070
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2017, 08:49:21 AM »
Probably the same ones that my friend has a basement full of. Starts with F and ends with why the fuck didn't we get the real RIP?
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 8454
  • Gender: Female
Re: sending pdfs to Konica 1070
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2017, 10:09:32 AM »
can you print to the Konica rather than drop into the hot folder?
I can drag pdfs into our CW and it does use the Media box size
I only do this if my Media size is correct, I print to the Konica if it isn't.
I don't think we have the centering problem tho, I just like to have it showing
the correct sheet size

Online pspdfppdfxhd

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3094
  • Gender: Male
  • Gender: undisclosed
Re: sending pdfs to Konica 1070
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2017, 11:09:02 AM »
I have always been confused about the different boxes, crop, media etc.

I'll have to study this more when time allows.


Online Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 38863
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
  • Gender: male
Mac OS 11.5.2 Big Sur | Prinergy 9.0.1.125 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2021 | TWO Fuji CTP Units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17259
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: sending pdfs to Konica 1070
« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2017, 11:23:18 AM »
I have 2 files coming about setting up the folders. What RIP? Fiery?
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Online pspdfppdfxhd

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3094
  • Gender: Male
  • Gender: undisclosed
Re: sending pdfs to Konica 1070
« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2017, 11:50:06 AM »
Quote from: Joe date=1494429627 link=msg=290687

The PDF page boxes: MediaBox, CropBox, BleedBox, TrimBox & ArtBox


Thanks Joe, that's useful.

Muddled around in pitstop a bit but can't see a way to define media box to the same size as the trim box. Guess that would just be too easy.

Offline Possum

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4892
  • Gender: Female
  • Gender: female
Re: sending pdfs to Konica 1070
« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2017, 11:59:03 AM »
Also too easy is that later versions of Acrobat allow you to crop your file to size, but it keeps the cropped information, which other apps can read, thereby defeating the purpose. Earlier versions didn't do that. So much for new and improved.
Tall tree, short ropes, fix stupid.

Online Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 38863
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
  • Gender: male
Re: sending pdfs to Konica 1070
« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2017, 01:45:58 PM »
Quote from: Possum date=1494431943 link=msg=290692

Also too easy is that later versions of Acrobat allow you to crop your file to size, but it keeps the cropped information, which other apps can read, thereby defeating the purpose. Earlier versions didn't do that. So much for new and improved.


Yes. Non-destructive crop. So you can recover if you crop it wrong. Just changes the crop box but not the media box so RIP's that are set to render the media box still get the cropped info.
Mac OS 11.5.2 Big Sur | Prinergy 9.0.1.125 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2021 | TWO Fuji CTP Units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew

Online Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 38863
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
  • Gender: male
Re: sending pdfs to Konica 1070
« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2017, 01:53:13 PM »
Quote from: pspdfppdfxhd date=1494431406 link=msg=290691

Quote from: Joe date=1494429627 link=msg=290687

The PDF page boxes: MediaBox, CropBox, BleedBox, TrimBox & ArtBox


Thanks Joe, that's useful.

Muddled around in pitstop a bit but can't see a way to define media box to the same size as the trim box. Guess that would just be too easy.


Open inspector. Open the Acrobat tools (assuming you have already added the Pitstop tools to the Acrobat tools). Click the 'Pitstop Page Boxes' icon. Then in the menu at the top click the 'Show Page Boxes' icon. Then click the 'Edit Page Boxes'. If you have a multipage PDF you can set the first one and then in inspector under the 'Action' menu click the 'Apply these Page Boxes to All Pages' link. See attached images.
Mac OS 11.5.2 Big Sur | Prinergy 9.0.1.125 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2021 | TWO Fuji CTP Units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew

Online Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 38863
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
  • Gender: male
Re: sending pdfs to Konica 1070
« Reply #13 on: May 10, 2017, 01:57:13 PM »
If you want to change the page boxes via an action create a new action and then search 'Media box', 'Crop box', 'Bleed box', and 'Trim box'. Good luck figuring out what the options do though. At least I can't make a whole lot of sense out of them. They do not do what I think they should do. But I can usually fumble my way through it.
Mac OS 11.5.2 Big Sur | Prinergy 9.0.1.125 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2021 | TWO Fuji CTP Units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew

Online Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 38863
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
  • Gender: male
Re: sending pdfs to Konica 1070
« Reply #14 on: May 10, 2017, 02:08:56 PM »
Quote from: pspdfppdfxhd date=1494431406 link=msg=290691

Quote from: Joe date=1494429627 link=msg=290687

The PDF page boxes: MediaBox, CropBox, BleedBox, TrimBox & ArtBox


Thanks Joe, that's useful.

Muddled around in pitstop a bit but can't see a way to define media box to the same size as the trim box. Guess that would just be too easy.


First I am assuming your page has no bleed and you want the media box the same as the trim box sooooo....

Okay following my post above about using inspector lets say your trim is 210 mm x 297 mm and your media box is say 250mm x 350 mm and your bleed is defined as 3.2 mm. To change your media box you would have to enter -3.2 in both the x and y box (this number would be same number that is in the x and y box for whichever page box you are trying to re-size the media box to except it should be a negative value )(they will revert to 0 once you exit the x and y page box but don't worry...the setting took) and then enter you trim (or bleed) width and height of 210 mm x 297 mm (the same value of either the trim or bleed box you are trying to match). Your media box will now be the size of trim (or bleed) box. Then select the crop box and uncheck the box to disable the crop box. Then click it again to enable it and it will change to the size of the media box. Do the same for the bleed box. Then set your x and y value for the tim box to 0 and leave the height and width the same as they were originally. Your page boxes should all now be the same...at the trim size of the original PDF.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2017, 02:40:02 PM by Joe »
Mac OS 11.5.2 Big Sur | Prinergy 9.0.1.125 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2021 | TWO Fuji CTP Units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew