B4Print.com

Imposition Software => Dynagram => Topic started by: Angstboy on October 06, 2007, 02:09:50 PM

Title: Who uses Dynastrip?
Post by: Angstboy on October 06, 2007, 02:09:50 PM
Is Duck and I the only poor souls using this? :(
Title: Re: Who uses Dynastrip?
Post by: Joe on October 06, 2007, 04:16:45 PM
Quote from: Angstboy on October 06, 2007, 02:09:50 PMIs Duck and I the only poor souls using this? :(

I've tried it a couple of times. Never could get a good grasp of all those files it creates.
Title: Re: Who uses Dynastrip?
Post by: frailer on October 07, 2007, 03:52:39 AM

 
QuoteNever could get a good grasp of all those files it creates

Glad you said that, joe. WTF? PREPS' index files look pretty unobtrusive in comparison. We got Dyna bundled with our Fuji system. Haven't really used it. PREPS remains mainstay. but really should get on top of it as an alternative. Is there anything in particular you're supposed to DO with those files. My first instinct is to collect 'em in a folder so I don't have to look at them. But they must be performing some role.
Any enlightenment on this would be of interest, any Dyna-heads! ???
Title: Re: Who uses Dynastrip?
Post by: Santa on October 08, 2007, 05:49:02 AM
Been using Dyna for 3 years now.  I'd say it's ok at best.  My favorite is that saved layouts tend to disapear after saving them.
If the God's are smiling they end up in a rescued file.  If not we rebuild.  I never found their tech support overly helpful and found their tech web site not really user helpful either.

End of the day I don't hate it but it could be a whole lot better. 
Title: Re: Who uses Dynastrip?
Post by: Angstboy on October 09, 2007, 12:07:19 PM
Quote from: Santa on October 08, 2007, 05:49:02 AMBeen using Dyna for 3 years now.  I'd say it's ok at best.  My favorite is that saved layouts tend to disapear after saving them.

Yeah isn't that fun? Nice Monday surprise.

When it does feel like behaving I can fly in it.
Title: Re: Who uses Dynastrip?
Post by: bluekivi on October 10, 2007, 02:17:00 AM
I used it for years in the last shop I worked for.  Loved it for ganging jobs.  I hate all the math required for Preps but I'm getting used to it.  Lucky I took machine shop in school, still have the decimal equivalents of common fractions in the old memory banks.
Title: Re: Who uses Dynastrip?
Post by: duck on October 16, 2007, 03:03:06 PM
We create a "Layout" folder for all the extra files Dynastrip creates so they're not loose all over the job folder.
I don't know what they all are, but you'd think with all that extra crap, it would remember the print size and destination for that particular job. I still find myself printing to wrong sizes and into whatever the last job folder was fairly often.

BTW Angst, my co-worker  Michael upgraded his system to 10.4 and started having a ton of the flaky errors we talked about.  We've upgraded to version 5 which seems to be a little more stable. I'll keep ya updated.
Title: Re: Who uses Dynastrip?
Post by: Santa on October 17, 2007, 05:35:52 AM
Hi here you Duck.  After we went to 10.4 all hell broke loose.  Know the "rescued Jobs Folder" is my best friend.  Gonna take a look at 5 today.  I believe its a $$$ upgrade. >:(
Title: Re: Who uses Dynastrip?
Post by: Joe on October 17, 2007, 12:02:29 PM
Quote from: duck on October 16, 2007, 03:03:06 PMWe create a "Layout" folder for all the extra files Dynastrip creates so they're not loose all over the job folder.
I don't know what they all are, but you'd think with all that extra crap, it would remember the print size and destination for that particular job. I still find myself printing to wrong sizes and into whatever the last job folder was fairly often.

BTW Angst, my co-worker  Michael upgraded his system to 10.4 and started having a ton of the flaky errors we talked about.  We've upgraded to version 5 which seems to be a little more stable. I'll keep ya updated.

I don't have anything to add about Dynastrip but I just wanted to say that's one of the funniest avatars I've ever seen. Good work there.