News:

Main Menu

Number of Colors

Started by Bakamoo, May 05, 2014, 09:36:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bakamoo

Hello,

I'm a total newbie to printing and hoping that you guys could help. I'm a client and not the printer, so if you explain it via what I would know, it'll be extremely helpful. I cannot ask the printer directly since I am passing through another company who's only reply was your designer should know it, which they also don't.

According to the printer, our design has 11 colors and they can only do 8 or 9. We need to print this on a foil.  After doing a bit of research, I found only 5 colors for printing which are in CMY, White and Black.

Is there a way to convert our 11 colors to 8 or 9? Hope someone could help. Even better if there is an explanation for 2 colors, 4 colors, 8, 9, 11 and other common numbers. Thanks!

Attached a sample below. It is in jpg but the printer has the ai format.

Diddler

Quote from: Bakamoo on May 05, 2014, 09:36:41 PMHello,

I'm a total newbie to printing and hoping that you guys could help. I'm a client and not the printer, so if you explain it via what I would know, it'll be extremely helpful. I cannot ask the printer directly since I am passing through another company who's only reply was your designer should know it, which they also don't.

According to the printer, our design has 11 colors and they can only do 8 or 9. We need to print this on a foil.  After doing a bit of research, I found only 5 colors for printing which are in CMY, White and Black.

Is there a way to convert our 11 colors to 8 or 9? Hope someone could help. Even better if there is an explanation for 2 colors, 4 colors, 8, 9, 11 and other common numbers. Thanks!

Attached a sample below. It is in jpg but the printer has the ai format.
Hi Bakamoo and welcome,