New to the Stitcher world, need help please....

Started by PJP13, August 11, 2010, 10:27:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PJP13

Hello All,

I am a production manager at a medium shop.  Over the summer our bindery provider went out of business.  We decided to pick up their stitcher at that time to bring all of our saddle stitch projects in-house.

We have a Muller Martini 335 10 pocket stitcher.  The machine itself is in decent condition.

The problem we are having is setup and run times.  I believe it is a combination of being misled about the quickness of setup times by the previous owner, and having a operator that runs slower than I would prefer...

My question is this:
Does anyone have some documentation they would be willing to share as to typical setup times?  Better than that would be some sort of excel calculator for estimating run times....  But any info would be greatly appreciated.  Obviously, I realize that there are countless variable; book size, paper stocks, pocket setups, and any other random thing you can imagine.  I am just looking for general rules of thumb if you have them available and are willing to share..

Thanks for any and all direction you are willing to share!

born2print

I may be able to help,
for a general idea, do you run all 10 pockets usually or just 3-5 of them?
Do you generally plan to run 1-on with a 3-knife (trims head, foot and face just before the delivery)
or perhaps run books 2-up with a 4 or 5-knife to split them?
Generaly, what page-count signatures will be common (8, 16, 32?)
How will I laugh tomorrow...
when I can't even smile today?

jimking

Is this info needed to see if the machine and or operator is slow, or for estimating? This Muller Martini 335 seems to be a little dated, however they are very good machines. How much experience does the operator have on this brand of machine?

impodave