B4Print.com

Workflows => Enfocus => Topic started by: AaronH on February 04, 2019, 12:30:56 PM

Title: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: AaronH on February 04, 2019, 12:30:56 PM
Hey everyone! I don't know what I did, but lately when I open a PDF for the first time, this pops up in my Enfocus Navigator.

Has anyone run into this before? I'm not sure what is causing this to happen.
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: Tracy on February 04, 2019, 12:35:22 PM
It looks like a preflight set to go off on startup, (I'm sure you figured that part out)!
That's weird!
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: Joe on February 04, 2019, 12:46:01 PM
Preflight profile named 'GPC'?
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: AaronH on February 04, 2019, 01:29:19 PM
The really weird thing is that I ran a search for the name of the preflight profile and can't find one. I'm starting to wonder if these are from the same client and something might be embedded sort of with their PDFs. I'll have to pay attention to what PDFs cause it.
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: Possum on February 04, 2019, 02:25:39 PM
Sounds like some new kind of food preservative.
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: andyfest on February 04, 2019, 02:58:11 PM
If it’s anything like MSG, it may cause headaches...
:facepalm:
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: abc on February 04, 2019, 04:48:22 PM
If you can send it over I'll get someone to take a look.
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: Possum on February 04, 2019, 05:35:53 PM
Quote from: andyfest link=msg=305002 date=1549310291

If it’s anything like MSG, it may cause headaches...
:facepalm:


Maybe it's a new date rape drug.
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: AaronH on February 05, 2019, 01:39:21 PM
Quote from: abc link=msg=305006 date=1549316902

If you can send it over I'll get someone to take a look.


Ugh, I can't get the file to do it now. I've tried everything, quitting acrobat even. I'll send you a PM when I find another file doing it.

I had the Action List open when I opened the file the first time it happened. I ran a search for GPC in all the tabs, but couldn't find an action called that.
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: Tracy on February 05, 2019, 02:23:17 PM
It got scared of ABC!  :laugh:
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: AaronH on February 05, 2019, 03:09:59 PM
Ha! Probably! :rotf:
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: StudioMonkey on February 06, 2019, 10:04:04 AM
I'm gonna go for Graphics Printability Check.
Or maybe Great Pile of Cakk
Green Pink Cyan
Gestetner Paradiddle Cauliflower
Geopolitical Peril Conundrum
Gel Permeation Chromatography
Generalized Polynomial Chaos
Giant Papillary Conjunctivitis
General Polynomial Clipping
Green Party of Canada
:banana:  :drunk3:  :banana:
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: Possum on February 06, 2019, 02:10:42 PM
Glycosene Pseudophosphatase Chondroitin
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: pspdfppdfxhd on February 06, 2019, 02:30:15 PM
Gracol Prepress Crap
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: david on February 06, 2019, 02:46:28 PM
Great Pile o'Crap

:rotf:
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: born2print on February 06, 2019, 02:58:53 PM
Quote from: david link=msg=305047 date=1549482388

Great Pile o'Crap


Right, like Gherkin Pickle Cake.
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: Joe on February 06, 2019, 03:49:53 PM
Quote from: david link=msg=305047 date=1549482388

Great Pile o'Crap

:rotf:


Got me one of those going right now!

Catalog with black only changes between the 3 versions. Files have 4 color changes everywhere.

:facepalm:
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: Possum on February 06, 2019, 04:25:20 PM
Those aren't colors. That's Black 2, Black 3, Black 4....
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: Joe on February 06, 2019, 06:24:49 PM
Quote from: Possum link=msg=305051 date=1549488320

Those aren't colors. That's Black 2, Black 3, Black 4....


Well it is going to generate plates then for Black, Black 2, Black 3, Black 4.... :rotf:
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: mc hristel on February 06, 2019, 08:12:56 PM
We just had a job go through that it was claimed at some point was going to be black only plate changes, but guess what? Brown type is not black only so full plate changes all around! :banana:
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: Joe on February 06, 2019, 10:24:10 PM
Quote from: mc hristel link=msg=305055 date=1549501976

We just had a job go through that it was claimed at some point was going to be black only plate changes, but guess what? Brown type is not black only so full plate changes all around! :banana:


It boggles my mind that people using InDesign don't know to put all the 4 color in one InDesign file and then put each black version type changes in its own layer in that document. Output a PDF for each version with the base layer and only the black changes layer for that version turned on. Abracadabra....perfection. So easy a monkey could do it.

:monkeyfight:
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: Possum on February 07, 2019, 10:20:58 AM
Yeah, but I bet they can use effects layers in Photoshop. That's what counts, right?  :sarcasm:
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: born2print on February 07, 2019, 12:22:32 PM
Quote from: Joe link=msg=305056 date=1549509850

Quote from: mc hristel link=msg=305055 date=1549501976

We just had a job go through that it was claimed at some point was going to be black only plate changes, but guess what? Brown type is not black only so full plate changes all around! :banana:


It boggles my mind that people using InDesign don't know to put all the 4 color in one InDesign file and then put each black version type changes in its own layer in that document. Output a PDF for each version with the base layer and only the black changes layer for that version turned on. Abracadabra....perfection. So easy a monkey could do it.

:monkeyfight:
yeah except even then... we do apparel catalogs that are done that way, should be perfect, but they always find a way to add a challenge. Last year it was to move a 1" version of the logo around a bit, could have been 100% blk logo and would still be ok, but they are experts and the logo was rich black. HA! touché! got us again! :ohno:

btw, we caught it at press and did some creative hone-offs rather than make all plates but still - grrrr
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: DigiCorn on February 07, 2019, 12:38:12 PM
Processed with MSG?
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: Joe on February 07, 2019, 02:29:05 PM
Quote from: born2print link=msg=305071 date=1549560152

Quote from: Joe link=msg=305056 date=1549509850

Quote from: mc hristel link=msg=305055 date=1549501976

We just had a job go through that it was claimed at some point was going to be black only plate changes, but guess what? Brown type is not black only so full plate changes all around! :banana:


It boggles my mind that people using InDesign don't know to put all the 4 color in one InDesign file and then put each black version type changes in its own layer in that document. Output a PDF for each version with the base layer and only the black changes layer for that version turned on. Abracadabra....perfection. So easy a monkey could do it.

:monkeyfight:
yeah except even then... we do apparel catalogs that are done that way, should be perfect, but they always find a way to add a challenge. Last year it was to move a 1" version of the logo around a bit, could have been 100% blk logo and would still be ok, but they are experts and the logo was rich black. HA! touché! got us again! :ohno:

btw, we caught it at press and did some creative hone-offs rather than make all plates but still - grrrr


Indeed. The more idiot proof we make it the better (or worse if you prefer) idiots they create.
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: Tracy on February 07, 2019, 02:50:08 PM
Quote from: born2print link=msg=305071 date=1549560152

Quote from: Joe link=msg=305056 date=1549509850

Quote from: mc hristel link=msg=305055 date=1549501976

We just had a job go through that it was claimed at some point was going to be black only plate changes, but guess what? Brown type is not black only so full plate changes all around! :banana:


It boggles my mind that people using InDesign don't know to put all the 4 color in one InDesign file and then put each black version type changes in its own layer in that document. Output a PDF for each version with the base layer and only the black changes layer for that version turned on. Abracadabra....perfection. So easy a monkey could do it.

:monkeyfight:
yeah except even then... we do apparel catalogs that are done that way, should be perfect, but they always find a way to add a challenge. Last year it was to move a 1" version of the logo around a bit, could have been 100% blk logo and would still be ok, but they are experts and the logo was rich black. HA! touché! got us again! :ohno:

btw, we caught it at press and did some creative hone-offs rather than make all plates but still - grrrr

Love it when a press op isn't afraid to fix something on press!!
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: born2print on February 07, 2019, 02:52:17 PM
 :rotf:  except a different time / couple of months ago, no one could find a single deletion pen in the whole plant! D'OH!
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: Tracy on February 07, 2019, 04:49:42 PM
yeah mine went missing too!
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: david on February 07, 2019, 05:35:18 PM
oven baked plates you can't hone off with a belt sander.

:hangme:
Title: Re: "Processed with 'GPC'"? - What is this?
Post by: ninjaPB_43 on February 12, 2019, 04:05:46 PM
Quote from: Joe link=msg=305056 date=1549509850

Quote from: mc hristel link=msg=305055 date=1549501976

We just had a job go through that it was claimed at some point was going to be black only plate changes, but guess what? Brown type is not black only so full plate changes all around! :banana:


It boggles my mind that people using InDesign don't know to put all the 4 color in one InDesign file and then put each black version type changes in its own layer in that document. Output a PDF for each version with the base layer and only the black changes layer for that version turned on. Abracadabra....perfection. So easy a monkey could do it.

:monkeyfight:


There's even a script for outputting versions of a base layer!!