Recent

Author Topic: fiery XF, command workstation woes  (Read 448 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online pspdfppdfxhd

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2771
  • Gender: Male
fiery XF, command workstation woes
« on: November 20, 2020, 06:41:27 AM »
This one is driving me crazy. :drunk3:

I am running Fiery XF on my Mac to drive our epson.

We just got a new Konica printer and I want to hook up the Mac to CWS but it will not install and gives the message on installation about removing XF. I need both programs operational not just one.

Anyone else have this issue?

Offline scottrsimons

  • Prepress/IT/Automation
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Gender: Male
  • 42
Re: fiery XF, command workstation woes
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2020, 08:07:50 AM »
Not knowing 100%, but sounds like they are different versions. And different versions don't play well with each other. As far as I know, it's one or the other. Can't have your cake and eat it too.
Mac • Prinergy 8 • Preps 8 • RBA • Fusion Pro

"Your superior intellect is no match for our puny weapons!" - Homer J. Simpson

<!--"If you don't do anything you can't screw anything up." Joe-->

Online pspdfppdfxhd

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2771
  • Gender: Male
Re: fiery XF, command workstation woes
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2020, 09:43:01 AM »
But one is being used to drive the Epson, the other one is used to control jobs being sent to the Konica. 2 different IP addresses for each server. (I suppose).

Maybe XF can be used for both purposes?

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7986
  • Gender: Female
Re: fiery XF, command workstation woes
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2020, 03:26:34 PM »
I always wondered, why can't you have your cake and eat it too?

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 37911
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: fiery XF, command workstation woes
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2020, 04:28:45 PM »
If I have cake....I'm eating it too! :rotf:
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

I'm Sorry I Hurt Your Feelings When I Said You Were Stupid. I Honestly Thought You Already Knew

Offline david

  • WTF?
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 15467
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
Re: fiery XF, command workstation woes
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2020, 05:18:20 PM »
pie over here!!!

 :lmao:
Prepress guy - doin' jobs one at a time
www.texasgraphics.com

Online pspdfppdfxhd

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2771
  • Gender: Male
Re: fiery XF, command workstation woes
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2020, 05:25:55 PM »
NOT FUNNY! I WANT MY CWS AND MY XF TOO!  :git off mah lawn:  :drunk3:

Offline david

  • WTF?
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 15467
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
Re: fiery XF, command workstation woes
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2020, 05:37:34 PM »
are you currently running CWS on another workstation? or just wanting to use it?
Have you tried using XF to connect to the Konica?
Prepress guy - doin' jobs one at a time
www.texasgraphics.com

Online pspdfppdfxhd

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2771
  • Gender: Male
Re: fiery XF, command workstation woes
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2020, 06:20:07 PM »
Tried to do that, cannot figure it out.

Just registered on the EFI forums and posted the question. Surely somebody might understand the situation.  :drunk3:

Online pspdfppdfxhd

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2771
  • Gender: Male
Re: fiery XF, command workstation woes
« Reply #9 on: November 23, 2020, 08:13:05 AM »
Its okay, I managed to setup hotfolders on the network do I don't really need the cws installed on my Mac.


Offline Slappy

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4298
  • Gender: Male
  • Come On. Fhqwhgads.
Re: fiery XF, command workstation woes
« Reply #10 on: November 23, 2020, 12:58:54 PM »
We have CWS installed on the Mac Workstations, and use it to push jobs to 3 different devices so it definitely works. At least, for Xerox machines, I've never tried to use it for another brand of output device like an Epson.

Its okay, I managed to setup hotfolders on the network do I don't really need the cws installed on my Mac.
Man, I wish we paid for the Hot Folders option. But alas, nope.  :'(
A little diddie ‘bout black 'n cyan...two reflective colors doin’ the best they can.

Online pspdfppdfxhd

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2771
  • Gender: Male
Re: fiery XF, command workstation woes
« Reply #11 on: November 23, 2020, 06:32:09 PM »
Yes, we use fiery XF for the Epson.

Offline DigiCorn

  • Terrorizing humans since 1971
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 15583
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Clerks.
Re: fiery XF, command workstation woes
« Reply #12 on: November 24, 2020, 12:51:30 AM »
This is like ancient technology history for me. The last time I used Fiery XF was upon it's release in 2014. It ran the Epsons in the office. I seem to recall not being able to run CWS on that machine, but I don't recall ever coming up with a solution either.

I remember on my desk I had the main Mac workflow for Rampage and standard production, a Windows 7 box for the PC side of things, that ran CWS and PDFLib Blocks programming, I had a Windows XP box just for SmartBoard and the Canon B&W (SmartBoard didn't run past XP), and then I had a dedicated print server for Fiery XF.

Nowadays, I just have the trash can Mac... if I still have a job... if I ever go back to work... still homeschooling 2 kids on family leave. I have a windows box, but I never trun it on anymore.
"Selling my soul would be a lot easier if I could just find it."
– Nikki Sixx

“Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”
― Ernest Hemingway