Recent

Author Topic: Code39 Barcode  (Read 1026 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Slappy

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4348
  • Gender: Male
  • Come On. Fhqwhgads.
  • Gender: genderless
Code39 Barcode
« on: April 27, 2021, 11:17:49 AM »
I've got a new client that has the need for a Code39 Barcode included in data. I've got a Code39 font, XMPie generate it correctly using their supplied data, but they're requesting that it have the longer end barcodes like the attached "Sample" image. (I don't those ends have to be longer, but they need to be printed for the reader to recognize it.)

When I add the asterisk character directly in the text box, of course it shows the asterisks but I don't want that to be visible. (Image "Manual character added")

Is there another version of the Code39 that would generate those end codes correctly, or...?

I know XMPie does barcodes natively via QLingo but I just don't have the time (or patience) to learn that today.
A little diddie ‘bout black 'n cyan...two reflective colors doin’ the best they can.

Offline born2print

  • Post count: purtygood
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 12768
  • Gender: Male
  • Gender: undisclosed
Re: Code39 Barcode
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2021, 11:32:59 AM »
MBC4 has around 33 types of Code39, not sure if it is free software...
He stated their PDF's are 99.9% accurate and I replied we prefer 100% accuracy.

Offline Slappy

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4348
  • Gender: Male
  • Come On. Fhqwhgads.
  • Gender: genderless
Re: Code39 Barcode
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2021, 11:39:56 AM »
MBC4 has around 33 types of Code39, not sure if it is free software...

What's MBC4?
A little diddie ‘bout black 'n cyan...two reflective colors doin’ the best they can.

Offline born2print

  • Post count: purtygood
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 12768
  • Gender: Male
  • Gender: undisclosed
Re: Code39 Barcode
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2021, 12:03:50 PM »
It's a pretty good barcode software we've had so long that I don't remember the origin...
and it just loads and works without any license key or whatever as far as I can tell, I've upgraded the Mac then just dropped it on the drive and go with it.
He stated their PDF's are 99.9% accurate and I replied we prefer 100% accuracy.

Offline born2print

  • Post count: purtygood
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 12768
  • Gender: Male
  • Gender: undisclosed
Re: Code39 Barcode
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2021, 12:04:45 PM »
We also use BC Studio, but it is the opposite - need new license key every time, etc...
He stated their PDF's are 99.9% accurate and I replied we prefer 100% accuracy.

Offline Slappy

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4348
  • Gender: Male
  • Come On. Fhqwhgads.
  • Gender: genderless
Re: Code39 Barcode
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2021, 12:06:54 PM »
Ah I see. Interesting, it generate images I suppose instead of being font-based.

I'm messing with a demo version of IDAutomation's too, I think it has a version that will do natively what I need. Maybe.
A little diddie ‘bout black 'n cyan...two reflective colors doin’ the best they can.

Offline david

  • WTF?
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 15676
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
  • Gender: undisclosed
Re: Code39 Barcode
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2021, 12:29:14 PM »
I use BC Studio here, works great, but not free.
Prepress guy - doin' jobs one at a time
www.texasgraphics.com

Offline scottrsimons

  • Prepress/IT/Automation
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 431
  • Gender: Male
  • 42
  • Gender: undisclosed
Re: Code39 Barcode
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2021, 01:03:31 PM »
Even though I have used XMPie, you should be able to do that with layers. We use FusionPro. Have a text box with your barcode created, and then place another text box on top, with white fill, and the same text data for the barcode. Will need to play around with placement, but should be able to get it to look the same.
"Your superior intellect is no match for our puny weapons!" - Homer J. Simpson

Offline Slappy

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4348
  • Gender: Male
  • Come On. Fhqwhgads.
  • Gender: genderless
Re: Code39 Barcode
« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2021, 02:23:51 PM »
Don't run FusionPro here.

I got a sign-off using the IDAutomation version, so guess we'll be purchasing that one! (Pic attached for kicks)

Thx all, I love barcodes.  ::)
A little diddie ‘bout black 'n cyan...two reflective colors doin’ the best they can.

Offline DCurry

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1923
  • Gender: Male
  • They're real, and they're spectacular.
  • Gender: male
Re: Code39 Barcode
« Reply #9 on: April 28, 2021, 08:37:10 AM »
If you don't want the asterisks to appear, there are a couple options. You'd have to have the human readable text as a separate box and not incorporated into the barcode itself, but once you do that can you tell XMPie to substring so it ignores the first and last characters?

If you can't do that, you can use a GREP style in InDesign to change asterisks to a different color like Paper so it seems to disappear. There's a few steps involved so let me know if I need to get more detailed.

Also, since you're dealing with a separate text box for the human readable, you could make its fill color White or Paper and overlap the actual barcode so that the end bars appear longer like you wanted in the first place.
Prinergy 8.4.1.45 • Preps 8 (Not a fan) • SmartStream Designer

Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a night. But set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life!

Offline DPSprint

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 561
  • Gender: undisclosed
Re: Code39 Barcode
« Reply #10 on: April 28, 2021, 04:39:51 PM »
Don't run FusionPro here.

I got a sign-off using the IDAutomation version, so guess we'll be purchasing that one! (Pic attached for kicks)

Thx all, I love barcodes.  ::)
we use the IDautomation one (sans asterisks) and it works fine  ;)