Recent

Author Topic: text to outlines in Acrobat  (Read 14160 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online pspdfppdfxhd

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2547
  • Gender: Male
text to outlines in Acrobat
« on: October 01, 2007, 10:29:31 AM »
Here's one I use a lot....

many times we'll have a problematic font in a pdf, especially when printing to one of our canon b&w printers (the rip isn't as advanced as the Apogee).

You can convert all the text in a pdf to outlines but only if it contains transparency. So you add a watermark (see settings in picture) and make sure the opacity is at 0 and the convert text to outlines is checked then you use the transparency flattener and all text will be outlined.


Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36577
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: text to outlines in Acrobat
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2007, 12:53:18 PM »
Yeah, I use that a lot but I create a white transparent box with Pitstop and then outline it with the flattener. Sometimes though, if the page already has transparency, the flattener can destroy it instead of flattening it correctly. The new Pitstop, 7.2, can outline it for you instead of letting the flattener do it. (Sometimes)
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline mrhooper

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: text to outlines in Acrobat
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2007, 01:22:39 PM »
If you have Pitstop, there is a global change setting for fonts that can outline everything. Just set it to find any font and convert to outline.

Online pspdfppdfxhd

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2547
  • Gender: Male
Re: text to outlines in Acrobat
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2007, 01:49:35 PM »
must be in the newest version, we're still using 6.53 in Acrobat 7.



Offline beermonster

  • since my op i now have a
  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3854
  • Gender: Male
  • real pussies shoot
Re: text to outlines in Acrobat
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2007, 06:45:14 AM »


hell its been ages since i needed to use this - and i had to today and all was going well but it turned my one page pdf into a 2 pager - it duplicated the page - ok - what did i do wrong? :-[
Leave me here in my - stark raving sick sad little world

Offline beermonster

  • since my op i now have a
  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3854
  • Gender: Male
  • real pussies shoot
Re: text to outlines in Acrobat
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2007, 06:46:09 AM »


sorry - i dit it in acro7 pro on my g5 thing

the pdf was a quack pdf
Leave me here in my - stark raving sick sad little world

Offline Laurens

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 293
    • http://www.prepressure.com
Re: text to outlines in Acrobat
« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2007, 11:06:52 AM »
Great trick!

I linked to it on my site but think this thread isn't complete without mentioning the disadvantages of outlining fonts: you lose hinting support and small type 'fattens up' a bit.
Having fun writing about prepress & printing for my Prepressure site

Offline G_Town

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 9214
  • Gender: Male
  • Aways open.
Re: text to outlines in Acrobat
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2007, 09:14:05 AM »
Not to mention Adobe weenies will chastise you about the evil of outlining fonts in the first place.

Make sure to read the EULA from the font foundry!

I mean really can ANYONE tell me if you have EVER read one of these things?

Offline frailer

  • Sydney, OZ.
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 11734
  • Gender: Male
  • Older, and digitally challenged
Re: text to outlines in Acrobat
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2007, 01:57:55 PM »

Quote
Make sure to read the EULA from the font foundry!

I mean really can ANYONE tell me if you have EVER read one of these things?


LOL. Can you imagine someone wagging the finger at a prepress desperado about EULAs; who's got a Prod Mgr. jumpin' up and down like Rumplestitskin about "when can ya get it out...?"
A broken finger, methinks... :D
Fujifilm XMF/AdobeCC/PitStop Pro/Black Magic/ScreenPlateRite_Fujifilm ZP processless. 28" Komoris  |  Forgotten good guys: Dennis Ritchie, Burrell Smith, Bill Atkinson, Richard Stallman
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Too old for this.. but.. there's that question of income. And lack of it if I stop.
~~~~~~

Offline G_Town

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 9214
  • Gender: Male
  • Aways open.
Re: text to outlines in Acrobat
« Reply #9 on: December 10, 2007, 02:40:16 PM »
Yea I'm not sure who's more deluded the Adobe weenies or the Production managers.

???


Offline beermonster

  • since my op i now have a
  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3854
  • Gender: Male
  • real pussies shoot
Re: text to outlines in Acrobat
« Reply #10 on: December 11, 2007, 08:10:46 AM »


hell deffo the production managers....very out of whack people....
Leave me here in my - stark raving sick sad little world

Offline Jon Morgan

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • http://www.hopkinsprinting.com
Re: text to outlines in Acrobat
« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2008, 09:02:48 AM »
We've done that trick a few times and it indeed works great.  Another tool we have that works quite well is IntelliPDF's Curves.

http://www.intellipdf.com/curves.htm

Although it's $250, we bought it before we learned of the trick you described and have found it to be worth its weight in gold.

Many thanks!
Jon :-)

Offline almaink

  • Profeebfilefixer
  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1196
  • Gender: Male
  • Whacking and stacking since '76
Re: text to outlines in Acrobat
« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2008, 09:15:15 AM »
Older versions of Pit Stop can use an action to place a small transparent object on each page so you can use the optimizer to create outlines. Another way for those without Pit Stop or Acrobat 8 is to place in Indy, add a transparent object and set your flattener to outline fonts then save as a PDF version 1.3 or just rip it, if you rip from applications.
Like Joe said tho, if the job contains real transparent objects watch it.
OS10.6.8  OS10.10.5
Windows 10
Cannon C6000
Oce TDS 860
Kodak Digimaster 9110
Don't Crush That Dwarf, Hand Me the Pliers

Offline peace flaps

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: text to outlines in Acrobat
« Reply #13 on: March 19, 2008, 10:37:20 AM »
gentlemen (and ladies), this could be the tip of the decade!

not had chance to try it yet - but if it works on the pdf from the other day with the dodgy wingdings text, it could be a life saver :D

Offline peace flaps

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: text to outlines in Acrobat
« Reply #14 on: March 19, 2008, 11:23:00 AM »
(YES - IT WORKS!!)