Author Topic: Screen PTR-4100  (Read 19519 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline david

  • WTF?
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 14985
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
Re: Screen PTR-4100
« Reply #15 on: May 11, 2011, 01:11:37 PM »
If it's right on the edge of the page, it sure looks like you have a frame or a stroke in the page file.
does it appear in the same place on all the plates?
any color?
Prepress guy - doin' jobs one at a time

Offline Grimace

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
  • Gender: Male
Re: Screen PTR-4100
« Reply #16 on: May 11, 2011, 01:56:38 PM »

If it's right on the edge of the page, it sure looks like you have a frame or a stroke in the page file.
does it appear in the same place on all the plates?
any color?



I know what it looks like. But really and truly there is no anything in the files.
I can create a new file, any size and just type the work "test" or draw just a box, any color, any document color mode, any file type etc..
And I get the line.

Offline DigiCorn

  • A legend in my own mind
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 14761
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Clerks.
Re: Screen PTR-4100
« Reply #17 on: May 11, 2011, 02:34:01 PM »
Our PlateRite is prone to the occasional "hot spot," but I don't think I ever got a line like that. I used to see lines like that on the Palladio. On the Palladio it's due to dust on the optics. Using a dust free, quick drying alcohol wipe (special optic cleaning pad like this one: http://www.harmonycr.com/ProductDetail.jsp?LISTID=200000-1135811874) clean the mirrors/optics. It's accessible from the panel on the right hand side of the machine as you're facing the plate loading area. Then, take the back panel off and wipe down the cylinder that the plate wraps around. Leave no dust anywhere, and don't touch anything (especially the laser/mirror/optics). You CAN do this yourself, but if you scratch the mirror/optics, game over. You might want to have it professionally serviced.
"I'm not addicted to cocaine. I just like the way it smells."
– Richard Pryor

“Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”
― Ernest Hemingway

Offline david

  • WTF?
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 14985
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
Re: Screen PTR-4100
« Reply #18 on: May 11, 2011, 02:39:56 PM »
is your page file imposed?
have you checked to see if there is anything in the impose file?

and, before they are exposed, have you looked at the plates to make sure there is nothing on the plate like a scratch or anything?
Prepress guy - doin' jobs one at a time

Offline Grimace

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
  • Gender: Male
Re: Screen PTR-4100
« Reply #19 on: May 11, 2011, 02:44:47 PM »
Well, maybe it's due to something on the lens or whatever, but it is exactly the distance of the page edge.


Last night I imaged a couple of plates for our Komori and they ran great.
I come in this morning and I can't get a Komori plate to image.
I'm getting an error that states "Image size specified by host computer is larger than allowable output image size"
So, I think I sent the file the wrong orientation, landscape vs portrait. But no matter how I send the file I get the error.
The preview confirms the orientation, and I ran the files from last night and get the same error.
I thought maybe my coworker f'd with the settings, but even starting from scratch will not work.


I'm getting really bummed out.

Offline Grimace

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
  • Gender: Male
Re: Screen PTR-4100
« Reply #20 on: May 11, 2011, 02:46:43 PM »

is your page file imposed?
have you checked to see if there is anything in the impose file?

and, before they are exposed, have you looked at the plates to make sure there is nothing on the plate like a scratch or anything?



All good guesses. Not imposed, no scratch. just a perfect straight clean line where the page edge would be.

Offline DigiCorn

  • A legend in my own mind
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 14761
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Clerks.
Re: Screen PTR-4100
« Reply #21 on: May 11, 2011, 02:54:31 PM »

Well, maybe it's due to something on the lens or whatever, but it is exactly the distance of the page edge.


Last night I imaged a couple of plates for our Komori and they ran great.
I come in this morning and I can't get a Komori plate to image.
I'm getting an error that states "Image size specified by host computer is larger than allowable output image size"
So, I think I sent the file the wrong orientation, landscape vs portrait. But no matter how I send the file I get the error.
The preview confirms the orientation, and I ran the files from last night and get the same error.
I thought maybe my coworker f'd with the settings, but even starting from scratch will not work.


I'm getting really bummed out.
Did you double check the Komori plate settings on the Screen touch screen panel? Maybe it lost it's settings somehow. I'm plating something right now, or I'd give you the dimensions we're using.
"I'm not addicted to cocaine. I just like the way it smells."
– Richard Pryor

“Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”
― Ernest Hemingway

Offline david

  • WTF?
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 14985
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
Re: Screen PTR-4100
« Reply #22 on: May 11, 2011, 02:59:58 PM »
you're cursed....

or you have gremlins.

have you tried to reboot the RIP?
Prepress guy - doin' jobs one at a time

Offline Grimace

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
  • Gender: Male
Re: Screen PTR-4100
« Reply #23 on: May 11, 2011, 05:19:41 PM »
DERP!
:death:
figured out my problem, I changed the profile in the Harlequin to the wrong setting when I was setting up another device...
My fault totally.


But, I still have the damn line. Could it be that the as setting defining the media type or plate setting may have the wrong offset and creating this?
I'm a little gun shy to start changing values I didn't input in the first place.

Offline t-pat

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 5042
  • Gender: Male
  • is it Friday yet?
Re: Screen PTR-4100
« Reply #24 on: May 11, 2011, 05:40:04 PM »
I seem to remember having issues with dirty optics doing something like this on a screen machine I dealt with too regularly to want to remember. Ablation on the lens or something. Wasn't real hard to clean though

Also issues with dirt on the drum causing hot spots as the screen unit in question, I was told it did not dynamically focus like our beloved Kodak units.
vdp donkey
gmc inspire • sarcasm while you wait

Offline t-pat

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 5042
  • Gender: Male
  • is it Friday yet?
Re: Screen PTR-4100
« Reply #25 on: May 11, 2011, 05:40:58 PM »
I happen to know one of the lead techs for Screen too, but he's in Brazil on a service call currently, so probably no help :)
vdp donkey
gmc inspire • sarcasm while you wait

Offline frailer

  • Sydney, OZ.
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 11720
  • Gender: Male
  • Older, and digitally challenged
Re: Screen PTR-4100
« Reply #26 on: May 11, 2011, 07:20:32 PM »
D'ya reckon he'll get a Brazilian while he's there?  (Forgive me, have to attend a funeral today, so a little unhinged...  :embarrassed: )  :slapownwrist:
Fujifilm XMF/AdobeCC/PitStop Pro/Black Magic/ScreenPlateRite_Fujifilm ZP processless. 28" Komoris  |  Forgotten good guys: Dennis Ritchie, Burrell Smith, Bill Atkinson, Richard Stallman
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Too old for this.. but.. there's that question of income. And lack of it if I stop.
~~~~~~

Offline gnubler

  • Ninja Warlord
  • ***
  • Posts: 28296
  • Gender: Male
  • Amerkin
Re: Screen PTR-4100
« Reply #27 on: May 11, 2011, 08:10:08 PM »
 :offtopic:
Hicks • Cross • Carlin • Kinison • Parker • Stone •  Colbert • Hedberg • Stanhope • Burr

"As much as I'd like your guns I prefer your buns." - The G

So,  :drunk3: i send the job to the rip with live transparecy (v 1.7 or whatever) and it craps out with a memory error.

Member #14 • Size 5 • PH8 Unit 7 • Paranoid Misanthropic Doomsayer • Printing & Drinking Since 1998 • doomed ©2011 david

Offline frailer

  • Sydney, OZ.
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 11720
  • Gender: Male
  • Older, and digitally challenged
Re: Screen PTR-4100
« Reply #28 on: May 12, 2011, 02:29:09 AM »

:offtopic:


Er...yes. Already did the guilt thing, above.   Any other purpose in stating the obvious?    :undecided:    Just bored?  That's OK, then.    :cheesy:
Fujifilm XMF/AdobeCC/PitStop Pro/Black Magic/ScreenPlateRite_Fujifilm ZP processless. 28" Komoris  |  Forgotten good guys: Dennis Ritchie, Burrell Smith, Bill Atkinson, Richard Stallman
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Too old for this.. but.. there's that question of income. And lack of it if I stop.
~~~~~~

Offline gnubler

  • Ninja Warlord
  • ***
  • Posts: 28296
  • Gender: Male
  • Amerkin
Re: Screen PTR-4100
« Reply #29 on: May 12, 2011, 08:15:10 AM »
Joe wasn't around. Just trying to keep the boards clean.  :angel:
Hicks • Cross • Carlin • Kinison • Parker • Stone •  Colbert • Hedberg • Stanhope • Burr

"As much as I'd like your guns I prefer your buns." - The G

So,  :drunk3: i send the job to the rip with live transparecy (v 1.7 or whatever) and it craps out with a memory error.

Member #14 • Size 5 • PH8 Unit 7 • Paranoid Misanthropic Doomsayer • Printing & Drinking Since 1998 • doomed ©2011 david