(newbie alert) are these separations OK?

Started by MikeInMass, April 25, 2012, 10:50:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MikeInMass

Our nonprofit is trying to print some maps and we are all absolute newbies.
So, I thought I would grovel for some feedback here.

Do these color separations look OK for sending off to a printer?
Or does it look like it violates a total ink limit?
Do I have to worry about the knocked out dots for cities not lining up right?

http://www.lemkoassociation.org/LemkoBook/map/map_72dpi.Black.tif
http://www.lemkoassociation.org/LemkoBook/map/map_72dpi.Cyan.tif
http://www.lemkoassociation.org/LemkoBook/map/map_72dpi.Magenta.tif
http://www.lemkoassociation.org/LemkoBook/map/map_72dpi.Yellow.tif

Thanks very much for any insight!

DigiCorn

Do you need to give them separated 1-bit tiffs? Why 72dpi (or is that just for preview only)? Why not give them a composite and let them make their own seps?
"There's been a lot of research recently on how hard it is to dislodge an impression once it's been implanted in someone's mind. (This is why political attack ads don't have to be true to be effective. The other side can point out their inaccuracies, but the voter's mind privileges the memory of the original accusation, which was juicier than any counterargument ever could be.)"
― Johnny Carson

"Selling my soul would be a lot easier if I could just find it."
– Nikki Sixx

"Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut."
― Ernest Hemingway

David

Welcome to the Forums Mike!

I would agree with digi, unless the printer is requesting 1 bit tiffs, I would think a PDF would be be than sufficient.

Can you explain why you are wondering if the tiffs are OK?
Prepress guy - Retired - Working from home
Livin' la Vida Loca

MikeInMass

Oh, I just made 72 dpi 1-bit TIFFs for you guys to preview. I have a single-page CMYK PDF file but it is 205 megs.