Recent

Author Topic: 1% dot  (Read 2159 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7653
  • Gender: Female
1% dot
« on: August 27, 2013, 10:05:33 AM »
Had a problem while a job was on press.
a 1% dot on an image's white space creating a "box"
it wasn't on the proof, I couldn't read the 1% in PS cs6 but I could read it in cs3, why?
Is there any way to catch this?
Maybe I have a bad proofing system.

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36767
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: 1% dot
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2013, 11:26:23 AM »
According to Murphy's printing law:

A 1% dot will only show up when you don't want it to.



As far as reading in CS3 but not CS6 do you have the size of the eyedropper set to the same size in both?

You're proofing system is probably OK. A 1% dot should not show up. It's rare that your plate would even hold it and even more rare a press would hold it on paper. It really sounds like you need to check your plate calibration and make sure a 1% dot isn't coming out on plate as a 5% dot.
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline DigiCorn

  • Terrorizing humans since 1971
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 14918
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Clerks.
Re: 1% dot
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2013, 11:37:19 AM »

According to Murphy's printing law:

A 1% dot will only show up when you don't want it to.



As far as reading in CS3 but not CS6 do you have the size of the eyedropper set to the same size in both?

You're proofing system is probably OK. A 1% dot should not show up. It's rare that your plate would even hold it and even more rare a press would hold it on paper. It really sounds like you need to check your plate calibration and make sure a 1% dot isn't coming out on plate as a 5% dot.
Or, if you are running a curve, check the curve to make sure that at 0% it's not adding 1% to it. It could also be a poor or missing media linearization.
"Selling my soul would be a lot easier if I could just find it."
– Nikki Sixx

“Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”
― Ernest Hemingway

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7653
  • Gender: Female
Re: 1% dot
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2013, 12:04:29 PM »
Thank you! good info, Let's see if I can fix it  :smiley:

about the photoshop I will look into that, I was using the info pallet

Offline david

  • WTF?
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 15106
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
Re: 1% dot
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2013, 12:44:33 PM »
Photoshop will only show a 1% or greater dot... If it's less than that, you won't get a reading with the eye dropper.
Prepress guy - doin' jobs one at a time

Offline Ear

  • Fiya wata
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 16306
  • Gender: Male
  • Nice Marmot, Man
Re: 1% dot
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2013, 12:13:56 PM »
Check the eyedropper options. Your CS3 might be set to a 3 or 5 pixel sample size, whereas CS6 might default to a 1 pixel sample.
"... profile says he's a seven-foot tall ex-basketball pro, Hindu guru drag queen alien." ~Jet Black

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7653
  • Gender: Female
Re: 1% dot
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2013, 03:19:55 PM »
would that be where it says sample size?



Offline Ear

  • Fiya wata
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 16306
  • Gender: Male
  • Nice Marmot, Man
Re: 1% dot
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2013, 03:24:55 PM »
Yes. What does is currently say?

I usually keep mine at 3x3 sample, as opposed to Point Sample.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2013, 03:25:57 PM by Earendil »
"... profile says he's a seven-foot tall ex-basketball pro, Hindu guru drag queen alien." ~Jet Black

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7653
  • Gender: Female
Re: 1% dot
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2013, 05:02:09 PM »
 :laugh:
mine says point sample,
on both tho, I'll play around with it
Thanks Ear! good to see you again :smiley:

I'm pretty sure I'm going to be dealing with calibration and curves
let you guys know what happens

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36767
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: 1% dot
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2013, 05:20:43 PM »
Point sample means that is is only sampling a single pixel at a time. Unless you are magical or a really good aimer, there is no way you are sampling the same pixel in both versions. I keep mine at 5 to get the best average.
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7653
  • Gender: Female
Re: 1% dot
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2013, 05:38:37 PM »
thanks guys!
changing my point sample now