Recent

Author Topic: Signa Station....any thoughts?  (Read 3143 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RMPrepress

  • Prepress Manager and printer since 1986
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • Gender: Male
    • www.kaseprinting.com
Signa Station....any thoughts?
« on: September 30, 2014, 10:27:46 AM »
Getting pricing and weighing all options on imposition software.  Just had a demo on Signa and was impressed but of course a demo and use in everyday prepress is something else.  Any advice?

We currently have Preps 5.3 running on 3 Mac Pro's but the time has come to move on to Preps 7 or look at something else like Signa or Metrix.

We run Heidelberg Prinect Pressroom Manager as well.
Manager/Default IT guy - 2008 (customized to the max) MacPro running macOS 10.14.5
Kodak Prinergy 8.3 - Kodak Insite 9.1.1 - Kodak Magnus 8000(wAutoloader) - Kodak Sonora Plates
Epson P9000 w/Fiery7 - G7 Master Printer.
Heidelberg Prinect 2012
Prepress Dept. supports three 40 inch Heidelberg's and 6 Konica Digital Presses.

Offline Slappy

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4197
  • Gender: Male
  • Come On. Fhqwhgads.
Re: Signa Station....any thoughts?
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2014, 12:42:42 PM »
Oh boy, let me gather some thoughts. This is the first shop I've been at that uses it, came from a Preps background although I was only vaguely familiar with that, I'll try to throw some of the positives & negatives. We're running the latest version too, updated everything from prepress back to the Pressroom Manager also.
A little diddie ‘bout black 'n cyan...two reflective colors doin’ the best they can.

Offline RMPrepress

  • Prepress Manager and printer since 1986
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • Gender: Male
    • www.kaseprinting.com
Re: Signa Station....any thoughts?
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2014, 02:00:00 PM »
Great ....I will be looking forward to your next post!
Manager/Default IT guy - 2008 (customized to the max) MacPro running macOS 10.14.5
Kodak Prinergy 8.3 - Kodak Insite 9.1.1 - Kodak Magnus 8000(wAutoloader) - Kodak Sonora Plates
Epson P9000 w/Fiery7 - G7 Master Printer.
Heidelberg Prinect 2012
Prepress Dept. supports three 40 inch Heidelberg's and 6 Konica Digital Presses.

Offline WharfRat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
Re: Signa Station....any thoughts?
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2014, 07:05:24 AM »
In your "latest version" (13?) are you running the complete "Business Manager"
with the MIS for estimating and ticket writing interacting with Cockpit and SignsStation and Data Terminals?
I wouldn't mind getting in a chat about that complete workflow.
We are having major problems with SignaStation interacting and translating information coming from Business Manager.
Maybe it is just us - maybe not.
It would be great to hear of some other experiences with the full suite

MSD

Offline DigiCorn

  • Terrorizing humans since 1971
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 15305
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Clerks.
Re: Signa Station....any thoughts?
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2014, 10:42:53 AM »
Joe, I will remain mum on this subject. My silence speaks volumes.
"Selling my soul would be a lot easier if I could just find it."
– Nikki Sixx

“Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”
― Ernest Hemingway

Offline Slappy

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4197
  • Gender: Male
  • Come On. Fhqwhgads.
Re: Signa Station....any thoughts?
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2014, 01:17:08 PM »
Quote from: WharfRat date=1412161524 link=msg=258859

In your "latest version" (13?) are you running the complete "Business Manager"
with the MIS for estimating and ticket writing interacting with Cockpit and SignsStation and Data Terminals?

That's a negative, Ghost Rider. Management didn't want to pony up for it, which is understandable given the what, 6 figure price tag?
A little diddie ‘bout black 'n cyan...two reflective colors doin’ the best they can.

Offline RMPrepress

  • Prepress Manager and printer since 1986
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • Gender: Male
    • www.kaseprinting.com
Re: Signa Station....any thoughts?
« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2014, 12:57:41 PM »
We would most likely just be purchasing Signa Station as a standalone. Although we do use Pressroom Manager now.

The possible problem for us is that we have an Esko Nexus Rip and use a JDF workflow, writing JDF out of Preps and dropping on Nexus manager workflows.
Not sure yet if a JDF from Signa will go through Nexus.

Manager/Default IT guy - 2008 (customized to the max) MacPro running macOS 10.14.5
Kodak Prinergy 8.3 - Kodak Insite 9.1.1 - Kodak Magnus 8000(wAutoloader) - Kodak Sonora Plates
Epson P9000 w/Fiery7 - G7 Master Printer.
Heidelberg Prinect 2012
Prepress Dept. supports three 40 inch Heidelberg's and 6 Konica Digital Presses.

Offline Slappy

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4197
  • Gender: Male
  • Come On. Fhqwhgads.
Re: Signa Station....any thoughts?
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2014, 10:06:19 PM »
Haven't forgotten you, we are just absolutely shit-hammered with political jobs and will be for the next few weeks. I'll try to jot some notes down while I'm slaving away and throw it up here this week though!  :embarrassed:

I did see your concern about running Signa JDFs through Nexus, if I can generate some, do you want to give 'em a push and see what happens?
A little diddie ‘bout black 'n cyan...two reflective colors doin’ the best they can.

Offline haushold

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Gender: Male
Re: Signa Station....any thoughts?
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2014, 01:11:56 PM »
We use Heidelberg Prinect as our primary workflow, previously everything was sent through our Nexus rip. The cip data goes directly from Prinect to our Heidelberg - If we send plates for the KBA - the cip3 data gets generated by Prinect - and dropped into a Nexus hot folder for the KBA. If I recall we had to purchase a special license for this feature.
Artificial intellegence is no match for natural stupidity.