Recent

Author Topic: Running Harlequin but have option to buy Nexus. Thoughts?  (Read 1932 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rickself

  • Paranormal Prepress Guy
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • Gender: Male
Running Harlequin but have option to buy Nexus. Thoughts?
« on: April 30, 2015, 11:20:27 AM »
Hey all -
I currently run, and am most familiar with the Harlequin RIP Workflow system. There is an auction next week at a large print shop that has unfortunately gone the way of a lot of printers. The boss sent me a picture of the Nexus ver 8 manual, supposedly thinking this is something we can incorporate into our business. (He doesn't know Word from InDesign).We are a folding carton plant, not a glitzy coffee table book printer. We have a Komori 6 color press. That's it. I don't know enough about Nexus but don't believe it would do us any good to purchase.
Thoughts?
Thanks!
Rick Self, Prepress Oldie
G5 Quad-Core Intel Sierra  HP DesignJet Z6 44in   RICOH Pro C5200S
Fiery BCE5  Xitron/Harlequin 8.3   Screen 8000II   Azura Plates   Komori L640

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36552
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Running Harlequin but have option to buy Nexus. Thoughts?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2015, 11:28:35 AM »
Not knocking Nexus as I'm sure later versions handle transparency better now. We stopped using Nexus back at version 8 as it had trouble with transparency at times and I can't imagine it's gotten any better with newer releases of software from Adobe, Quark, etc...

I would also be concerned if Esko will let you license it too. We were told in pretty strong terms we could not sell our dongle when we stopped using it because they don't allow license transfer. I would definitely find out if you can before purchasing it.
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline rickself

  • Paranormal Prepress Guy
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • Gender: Male
Re: Running Harlequin but have option to buy Nexus. Thoughts?
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2015, 11:31:08 AM »
Thanks, Joe. I have no desire at my age to learn a new (old) RIP workflow, especially when we're running only one press. And I'm sure upgrading to the newer ESKO line would cost an arm and a leg. Why change when we have something that works already?
Rick Self, Prepress Oldie
G5 Quad-Core Intel Sierra  HP DesignJet Z6 44in   RICOH Pro C5200S
Fiery BCE5  Xitron/Harlequin 8.3   Screen 8000II   Azura Plates   Komori L640

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17211
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: Running Harlequin but have option to buy Nexus. Thoughts?
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2015, 12:08:33 PM »
Because of ever evolving software. There will be a time when you get a file that will not RIP. I ran into it with apogee but since moving to prinergy we've been pretty safe so far.

Until Adobe pushes some new bullshit.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         â€”Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Offline mattbeals

  • Just a dude
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 885
  • Gender: Male
    • Matt Beals
Re: Running Harlequin but have option to buy Nexus. Thoughts?
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2015, 03:49:00 PM »
That old of a Nexus system is going to be a money pit. Spend the money on upgrading the Harlequin RIP and server. Maybe add it LucidDream's iTrap. Money better spent on that than v8 Nexus.
Matt Beals

Everything I say is my own personal opinion and has nothing to do with my employer or their views.

Offline pspdfppdfxhd

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2544
  • Gender: Male
Re: Running Harlequin but have option to buy Nexus. Thoughts?
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2015, 06:16:25 PM »
we recently upgraded our harlequin rip to the latest, much better on trapping and transparency, i mean its not perfect but its a real workhorse on the type of jobs we do. I think its version 9, 64 bit and overall, its been pretty solid. We started out on Agfa Taipan then to Apogee X but found, for a small shop, the upgrades, service, too expensive.

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17211
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: Running Harlequin but have option to buy Nexus. Thoughts?
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2015, 05:15:30 AM »
Hell, I have a ancient Apogee here holding up my network switches. It still works but I'd never want to use it again.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         â€”Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Offline andyfest

  • Know your role and shut your hole...
  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1515
  • Gender: Male
  • 100% Canucklehead
Re: Running Harlequin but have option to buy Nexus. Thoughts?
« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2015, 01:18:13 PM »
Quote from: Joe link=msg=268487 date=1430407715

Not knocking Nexus as I'm sure later versions handle transparency better now. We stopped using Nexus back at version 8 as it had trouble with transparency at times and I can't imagine it's gotten any better with newer releases of software from Adobe, Quark, etc...

I would also be concerned if Esko will let you license it too. We were told in pretty strong terms we could not sell our dongle when we stopped using it because they don't allow license transfer. I would definitely find out if you can before purchasing it.
Yes, your memory is correct Joe. Nexus v8 had a lot of issues with transparency, most of which were fixed in v9. v10 seems to be rock-solid, but it's the last available version (10.1.3) as Nexus will no longer be updated. If v8 is the only option, I would steer clear of it, but that being said, Nexus is a great workflow system for digital prep of folding cartons.
Sweet FA right now.

Offline PrepressN00b

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Gender: Male
    • Packz
Re: Running Harlequin but have option to buy Nexus. Thoughts?
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2015, 04:21:22 PM »
Current Nexus does a great job. But Like Joe mentioned, Esko is not going to let you activate that dongle without a large cost involved. With out paying you will not be able to upgrade Nexus to the newer version.
Peter Kincaid
Hybrid Software

Offline pspdfppdfxhd

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2544
  • Gender: Male
Re: Running Harlequin but have option to buy Nexus. Thoughts?
« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2015, 04:56:32 PM »
Quote from: pspdfppdfx link=msg=268517 date=1430432185

we recently upgraded our harlequin rip to the latest, much better on trapping and transparency, i mean its not perfect but its a real workhorse on the type of jobs we do. I think its version 9, 64 bit and overall, its been pretty solid. We started out on Agfa Taipan then to Apogee X but found, for a small shop, the upgrades, service, too expensive.



Now we are up to version 10 Harlequin, not finding too much that chokes it up these days...... haven't used anything but Harlequin for the past 5 years now and overall, i would give it about a 9 out of 10. It even works a lot better with flattened pdfs which we still get a lot from clients these days.