Recent

Author Topic: How easy/difficult is it to set up a new plate size in DynaStrip?  (Read 16667 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17250
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: How easy/difficult is it to set up a new plate size in DynaStrip?
« Reply #30 on: August 27, 2015, 01:48:33 PM »
That's never happened here.


Oh, wait...
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Offline Fontaholic

  • What fresh hell is this??!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
  • Gender: Male
Re: How easy/difficult is it to set up a new plate size in DynaStrip?
« Reply #31 on: August 27, 2015, 02:02:39 PM »
Quote from: Joe link=msg=271648 date=1440696475

So is your shop at a standstill right now since you can't make plates?


Naaah -- we still have the decrepit, temperamental Itek camera, plus the Xerox digital color press...

Cheers,
John the Fontaholic :drunk3:

Offline Fontaholic

  • What fresh hell is this??!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
  • Gender: Male
Re: How easy/difficult is it to set up a new plate size in DynaStrip?
« Reply #32 on: August 31, 2015, 10:55:53 AM »
So I got in this morning after the usual "not being in on Friday because there's not enough work for you", and guess what's not going to be here today after all...?

Cheers,
John the Fontaholic :drunk3:

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17250
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: How easy/difficult is it to set up a new plate size in DynaStrip?
« Reply #33 on: August 31, 2015, 11:09:17 AM »
Friday I had to help out the place that was making my plates. Seems their RIP went down and they needed me to make 1 bit tiffs for them so they can plates. I had to figure out how to change plate size, make sure they had the correct setback and make the tiff read right. It wasn't impossible, just took some reading and some educated guesses.

Then again it's a different system...
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Offline Fontaholic

  • What fresh hell is this??!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
  • Gender: Male
Re: How easy/difficult is it to set up a new plate size in DynaStrip?
« Reply #34 on: August 31, 2015, 11:17:49 AM »
As a temporary work-around, we're just going to have this place run the plates we need on the press plates they use for their press and the pressman is going to cut them down to the size he needs.

This didn't stop him from having a hissy fit upon learning that the plates weren't coming today, mind...

Cheers,
John the Fontaholic :drunk3;

Offline Ear

  • Fiya wata
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 16308
  • Gender: Male
  • Nice Marmot, Man
Re: How easy/difficult is it to set up a new plate size in DynaStrip?
« Reply #35 on: August 31, 2015, 11:30:59 AM »
I've had to run plates and cut them down for another shop before. I used the bindery guillotine cutter and charged the other place a blade sharpening fee too.
"... profile says he's a seven-foot tall ex-basketball pro, Hindu guru drag queen alien." ~Jet Black

Offline Fontaholic

  • What fresh hell is this??!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
  • Gender: Male
Re: How easy/difficult is it to set up a new plate size in DynaStrip?
« Reply #36 on: August 31, 2015, 11:34:39 AM »
Quote from: Ear link=msg=271704 date=1441035059

I've had to run plates and cut them down for another shop before. I used the bindery guillotine cutter and charged the other place a blade sharpening fee too.


Our guy uses the hand-operated paper cutter we've got here (think of a super-sized version of the one schools used to use.

I can never get a straight cut on that thing, but somehow he can...

Cheers,
John the Fontaholic :drunk3:

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17250
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: How easy/difficult is it to set up a new plate size in DynaStrip?
« Reply #37 on: August 31, 2015, 11:39:57 AM »
Straight edge and a box cutter. Takes a few passes but makes a clean cut.

I see your boss has amazing forethought. Tack on messed up plates, longer makeready times because of misregistration and the hassle of having a clueless person making your plates.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Offline Ear

  • Fiya wata
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 16308
  • Gender: Male
  • Nice Marmot, Man
Re: How easy/difficult is it to set up a new plate size in DynaStrip?
« Reply #38 on: August 31, 2015, 12:00:07 PM »
Yes, the box cutter works well for a plate or two but not a stack. I had to burn and cut 50 plates, and they are 34x36" size. I found cutting 25 at a time worked well. I think the cutter would've handled more but I didn't want to push it. Would not want to hand cut a sleeve of plates.
"... profile says he's a seven-foot tall ex-basketball pro, Hindu guru drag queen alien." ~Jet Black

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17250
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: How easy/difficult is it to set up a new plate size in DynaStrip?
« Reply #39 on: August 31, 2015, 02:17:44 PM »
Our pressmen did it for 8 months. If they even considered getting near the guillotine with those plates it would have started a war. The boss gets pissed if we cut chipboard on it.

Well, unless he needs the chipboard, then it's a different story.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Offline Ear

  • Fiya wata
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 16308
  • Gender: Male
  • Nice Marmot, Man
Re: How easy/difficult is it to set up a new plate size in DynaStrip?
« Reply #40 on: August 31, 2015, 02:41:32 PM »
Oh for sure. I hate doing it but it is just way too many plates to hand cut. Charge for a blade sharpening and it's all good.
"... profile says he's a seven-foot tall ex-basketball pro, Hindu guru drag queen alien." ~Jet Black

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17250
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: How easy/difficult is it to set up a new plate size in DynaStrip?
« Reply #41 on: August 31, 2015, 03:28:25 PM »
I agree totally but we can't charge ourselves for a knife grind because we have a platemaker we don't feel like getting fixed.

I'm so glad the boss hasn't tried to sharpen the blade on the little one we have here.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7896
  • Gender: Female
Re: How easy/difficult is it to set up a new plate size in DynaStrip?
« Reply #42 on: August 31, 2015, 03:34:08 PM »
I had to make plates for another shop once, they had the same press as one of ours.
it was very frustrating when our shop was busy and theirs was too.
It only lasted about a month or so.

Offline born2print

  • Post count: purtygood
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 12228
  • Gender: Male
Re: How easy/difficult is it to set up a new plate size in DynaStrip?
« Reply #43 on: August 31, 2015, 03:39:10 PM »
Quote from: Tracy link=msg=301939 date=1534265274
I get back to my dept and I'm all bleep you and bleep this bleep :laugh:

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17250
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: How easy/difficult is it to set up a new plate size in DynaStrip?
« Reply #44 on: August 31, 2015, 03:47:56 PM »
My Olfa blades only leave my office in my hand. I made that clear the last time the boss grabbed it for some silly reason. Really didn't make sense as both him and I almost always have a knife on them and more in the general vicinity.

Today is the benchmade griptillian in the pocket, SOG vision II in the backpack and another 2 in the first aid/bugout bag next to me.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job