Recent

Author Topic: Preps 6 PDF--PDF Read Error: PDFRead3  (Read 3511 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 37017
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Preps 6 PDF--PDF Read Error: PDFRead3
« Reply #15 on: November 06, 2015, 10:57:34 AM »
Quote from: Lyzan date=1446800372 link=msg=273662

Quote from: pmdark date=1446795563 link=msg=273660

Quote from: Joe date=1446793505 link=msg=273658

Yeah I don't know that you can either. I use CONNECT.  ;D

This is not even close to your situation as I am on a Mac but I do have Acrobat DC on this Mac but my version of Preps is version 7. I created a new job and added a set of pages created in InDesign CS5 and printed an imposed PDF and I didn't get the error you are getting.

When are you getting the error? When it starts to print and fails or does it print the PDF and you get the error when you try to open it in Acrobat? Or where exactly?


=3= rawr! my boss should really consider upgrading to a higher version! The error happens when it starts to print :(...


No, you just need to downgrade to PDF/X-1a.

//Lyzan


Disagree unless you have a RIP that doesn't do transparency. Otherwise you are just destroying a perfectly good PDF.
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17230
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: Preps 6 PDF--PDF Read Error: PDFRead3
« Reply #16 on: November 06, 2015, 11:04:43 AM »
Why not X-4 instead of the older X-1a?

I remember Preps not liking something back in the day but I'm not sure if I nailed it down to the PDF fault. I had to change to .jdf files.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 37017
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Preps 6 PDF--PDF Read Error: PDFRead3
« Reply #17 on: November 06, 2015, 11:09:24 AM »
Quote from: Farabomb date=1446825883 link=msg=273673

Why not X-4 instead of the older X-1a?

I remember Preps not liking something back in the day but I'm not sure if I nailed it down to the PDF fault. I had to change to .jdf files.


You use Evo right? Could he just output the .jdf and then send that into Evo?
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17230
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: Preps 6 PDF--PDF Read Error: PDFRead3
« Reply #18 on: November 06, 2015, 11:16:35 AM »
That's the only option I know of. Preps is separate in EVO.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17230
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: Preps 6 PDF--PDF Read Error: PDFRead3
« Reply #19 on: November 06, 2015, 11:17:20 AM »
Someone send me a PDF made in DC and I'll run it through and see what happens.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 37017
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Preps 6 PDF--PDF Read Error: PDFRead3
« Reply #20 on: November 06, 2015, 11:28:30 AM »
The thing is the PDF's are not made in DC. They are made from InDesign CS 5. The problem only started happening for him after he installed Acrobat DC on his Windows PC.
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17230
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: Preps 6 PDF--PDF Read Error: PDFRead3
« Reply #21 on: November 06, 2015, 12:04:40 PM »
Yeah, I didn't read the whole thing. I wouldn't put it past Adobe screwing things up.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Offline Lyzan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: Preps 6 PDF--PDF Read Error: PDFRead3
« Reply #22 on: November 07, 2015, 12:36:18 PM »
Quote from: Joe link=msg=273670 date=1446825454

Quote from: Lyzan date=1446800372 link=msg=273662

Quote from: pmdark date=1446795563 link=msg=273660

Quote from: Joe date=1446793505 link=msg=273658

Yeah I don't know that you can either. I use CONNECT.  ;D

This is not even close to your situation as I am on a Mac but I do have Acrobat DC on this Mac but my version of Preps is version 7. I created a new job and added a set of pages created in InDesign CS5 and printed an imposed PDF and I didn't get the error you are getting.

When are you getting the error? When it starts to print and fails or does it print the PDF and you get the error when you try to open it in Acrobat? Or where exactly?


=3= rawr! my boss should really consider upgrading to a higher version! The error happens when it starts to print :(...


No, you just need to downgrade to PDF/X-1a.

//Lyzan


Disagree unless you have a RIP that doesn't do transparency. Otherwise you are just destroying a perfectly good PDF.


But his PDF was not perfectly good PDF, otherwise he will be able to do it in Preps 6 without problem.  His problem has nothing to do with whatever version of Acrobat he has. But it has something to do with how his PDF was re-purposed to meet Preps 6 requisites.

Anyway, you are generally right. I should had just told him to try PDF/X. And for me both PDF/X-1a and PDF/X-4 are perfectly good PDF for print.

Usually error like that in Preps was a result of opening a PDF file in Acrobat and saving it "innocently" to whatever version because who knows what additional information the new version of Acrobat is putting in the file. 
« Last Edit: November 07, 2015, 12:39:31 PM by Lyzan »

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 37017
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Preps 6 PDF--PDF Read Error: PDFRead3
« Reply #23 on: November 07, 2015, 03:03:39 PM »
Quote from: Lyzan date=1446917778 link=msg=273706

But his PDF was not perfectly good PDF, otherwise he will be able to do it in Preps 6 without problem.  His problem has nothing to do with whatever version of Acrobat he has. But it has something to do with how his PDF was re-purposed to meet Preps 6 requisites.

Anyway, you are generally right. I should had just told him to try PDF/X. And for me both PDF/X-1a and PDF/X-4 are perfectly good PDF for print.

Usually error like that in Preps was a result of opening a PDF file in Acrobat and saving it "innocently" to whatever version because who knows what additional information the new version of Acrobat is putting in the file.


I don't think that is correct. The PDF's are created with InDesign CS5. The issue only started happening after he installed Acrobat DC. I don't think the problem is only happening with PDF's that he saved out of Acrobat DC. I think it is happening with any PDF's that he is using regardless of when, where, or how they were created. He can correct me if I am wrong in that assumption.
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline pmdark

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Gender: Male
Re: Preps 6 PDF--PDF Read Error: PDFRead3
« Reply #24 on: November 09, 2015, 08:46:00 PM »
I got it working! i saw a post about changing/putting something in Preps config file? (USE_PPT_PDFLIB:YES) and miraculously it worked!  :banana:  Thank you  for your help guys! :)

btw...o.o is it ok editing config file or will it screw things up?
Preps 6 User

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 37017
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Preps 6 PDF--PDF Read Error: PDFRead3
« Reply #25 on: November 10, 2015, 12:22:59 AM »
Quote from: pmdark date=1447119960 link=msg=273749

btw...o.o is it ok editing config file or will it screw things up?


As when editing anything...keep a backup of the original.
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17230
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: Preps 6 PDF--PDF Read Error: PDFRead3
« Reply #26 on: November 10, 2015, 08:35:21 AM »
As long as you keep a backup of the old file you should be fine. I've modified my config file for our specs and I rarely have issue with preps. Though I do get jammed up when customers use / and other characters but that's easily fixed.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job