Recent

Author Topic: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly  (Read 4535 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« on: May 28, 2017, 09:14:19 PM »
hey all, never actually started a topic before so here goes!

I get the occasional issue with some parts of pdf files not imposing correctly in preps: they step fine, but some vignettes seem to change on the output pdf file. I fix the file by ps the files via distiller and then they work fine. But this has bugged me before and I wonder why it is?
Using Preps 7, Mac 10.10.5
Last time this happened on a large header (the whole vignette from green to blue had sorta shifted across the whole stepped file, like it wasnt 'contained' within its frame on its own page?) and we could spot it on the digital press proof but this one is actually really small and only the client found it (luckily on the press proof as well).
pic 1; on the left side see the pointer to the product, the right side one has vanished (actually it is still there according to pitstop and even has color etc in it, pic 2)
What would be the reason? At a guess the client has definately used some sort of transparency that is causing the problem but what is it and how do we stop it from happening (without having to ps every file we get)?
« Last Edit: May 28, 2017, 09:17:49 PM by DPSprint »

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2017, 09:19:25 PM »
drats and then I get it wrong!
correct pic 1 attached to this one

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36519
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2017, 01:08:45 AM »
Not really sure without seeing the original PDF. What kind of RIP are you using in conjunction with Preps 7?
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2017, 03:57:54 PM »
Not quite sure, how would I find that out? as in where in preps?
The pics attached in the original post are from the pdf out of preps (well i resaved as jpg for here), before it gets sent to any press.

and attached here is the original pdf
« Last Edit: May 29, 2017, 04:03:02 PM by DPSprint »

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36519
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2017, 06:00:49 PM »
I mean what kind of workflow software are you using? Or are you just making an imposed PDF from Preps and then sending it where?
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2017, 09:53:36 PM »
Quote from: Joe link=msg=291264 date=1496095249

I mean what kind of workflow software are you using? Or are you just making an imposed PDF from Preps and then sending it where?

no workflow software here, Preps pdf sent to either indigo press or platesetter using very old RIPmate software

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17211
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2017, 08:44:26 AM »
Well, since you said very old RIPmate I'd have to point at that first. I highly doubt it's a APPE workflow and from the nightmares I remember, old RIPs handle transparency and vignettes horribly. That's why going in and flattening them fixes the issue. Other than updating your workflow I think you're stuck doing it manually.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36519
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #7 on: May 30, 2017, 08:47:31 AM »
OK I am a little confused here. The first imposed file you sent in post #1 was test.pdf. It shows the application that created it was InDesign. Not Preps.

The last PDF you sent was test 3.pdf. It also shows the application that created it was InDesign and the PDF Producer was Acrobat Distiller which I assume means you created a postscript file and distilled it to a PDF. When I place that file into Preps 7.5 and make an imposed PDF I think it looks fine. You can verify that. See attached.

So I guess my confusion is if the original file is something you create or supplied by a customer? Is it a ps/distilled pdf or one directly exported from InDesign? And If you place that PDF (test 3.pdf) into your Preps 7 and make a new imposed PDF is that resulting PDF one where the dots are changed?
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36519
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #8 on: May 30, 2017, 08:50:15 AM »
Quote from: Farabomb date=1496148266 link=msg=291273

Well, since you said very old RIPmate I'd have to point at that first. I highly doubt it's a APPE workflow and from the nightmares I remember, old RIPs handle transparency and vignettes horribly. That's why going in and flattening them fixes the issue. Other than updating your workflow I think you're stuck doing it manually.


I could be wrong but I think the PDF from Preps is the problem before it ever gets to RIPmate. But if it is happening when it goes through RIPmate instead of the PDF out of Preps then I 100% agree with this.
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Farabomb

  • #NoLivesMatter
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 17211
  • Gender: Male
  • Wait, what?
    • My other job
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #9 on: May 30, 2017, 09:04:42 AM »
I would like to know as well seeing as I output PDFs for production out of preps all the time and I've never seen this. I may have to start watching out.
Speed doesn't kill, rapidly becoming stationary is the problem

I'd rather have stories told than be telling stories of what I could have done.

Quote from: Ear date=1459965256 link=msg=278846
Quote from: Farabomb date=1459964381 link=msg=278844
It's more like grip, grip, grip, noise, then spin and 2 feet in and feel shame.
I once knew a plus-sized girl and this pretty much describes teh secks. :rotf:
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
         —Benjamin Franklin

My other job

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2017, 04:29:35 PM »
Quote from: Joe date=1496148615 link=msg=291275

Quote from: Farabomb date=1496148266 link=msg=291273

Well, since you said very old RIPmate I'd have to point at that first. I highly doubt it's a APPE workflow and from the nightmares I remember, old RIPs handle transparency and vignettes horribly. That's why going in and flattening them fixes the issue. Other than updating your workflow I think you're stuck doing it manually.

I could be wrong but I think the PDF from Preps is the problem before it ever gets to RIPmate. But if it is happening when it goes through RIPmate instead of the PDF out of Preps then I 100% agree with this.

LOL i seemed to have made it far too complicated...

Test 1 pdf I uploaded by mistake and then couldnt delete it from the original post: it was a test I did do in indesign to see if a manual impose would get the same result as the preps impose, it didnt.
test 2.jpg and test.jpg were just jpgs trying to show the issue.
test 3 is the original pdf supplied by the client (but just one page of it as the original file is too big).

and attached to this one is the file that preps output, using the test3.pdf unchanged.
(only one page of it, there are more pages doing the same thing).

...and these files are prior to sending any rip or press

and like I said originally, a ps through distiller fixes the original file so that preps doesnt do this weird thing, but I worry that I may miss files as i dont ps every file that comes through






Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2017, 04:31:58 PM »
Quote from: Joe date=1496148451 link=msg=291274

So I guess my confusion is if the original file is something you create or supplied by a customer? Is it a ps/distilled pdf or one directly exported from InDesign? And If you place that PDF (test 3.pdf) into your Preps 7 and make a new imposed PDF is that resulting PDF one where the dots are changed?

yeap bang on with that last comment

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36519
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2017, 05:25:23 PM »
OK the test file I did and attached earlier was made using test 3.pdf and it looked fine out of Preps but that pdf (test 3.pdf) was made using distiller, ie...postscript ===>distiller===>PDF. So the fix was already done to test 3.pdf that you up-loaded earlier right? Can you send me the original test 3.pdf that was not postscripted and distilled so I can see if it does it in Preps for me? You can send it via mailbigfile.com and use my joe at b4print dot com email address.
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #13 on: May 30, 2017, 05:45:55 PM »
yegads I am hopeless! yes I did attach the fixed file.

and the original file is too big to attach here (its 2.3 mb)
will send it via bigmail
« Last Edit: May 30, 2017, 05:49:28 PM by DPSprint »

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7600
  • Gender: Female
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #14 on: May 30, 2017, 06:28:23 PM »
I see the line on the left is grey (in the circled area) and white on the right.
Is this the problem?