Recent

Author Topic: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly  (Read 4994 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #15 on: May 30, 2017, 07:06:21 PM »
yes pretty much Tracey...

Offline DigiCorn

  • Terrorizing humans since 1971
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 14930
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Clerks.
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #16 on: May 30, 2017, 07:18:39 PM »
I've seen that before, but I just rasterized the files and moved on.
"Selling my soul would be a lot easier if I could just find it."
– Nikki Sixx

“Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”
― Ernest Hemingway

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36795
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #17 on: May 30, 2017, 08:21:06 PM »
OK this is what I found out...

your original PDF looks like this:

[attachimg=1 width=400]

And when you select the dots Pitstop identifies them as Device N:

[attachimg=2 width=400]
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36795
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #18 on: May 30, 2017, 08:21:38 PM »
Place the original into Preps and output new PDF and you get this:

[attachimg=3 width=400]

If I run the original into Prinergy and impose it and output a new PDF (Prinergy does use the Preps engine to impose) I get this:

[attachimg=4 width=400]
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36795
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #19 on: May 30, 2017, 08:25:27 PM »
Looks bad when imposes in Preps and output PDF. Looks good when ran through Prinergy and output as PDF.

So the issue is definitely in Preps. The way I was able to fix the original PDF was to convert the Device N dots to grayscale. Then when I placed it into Preps and made a new PDF it looked fine.

Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #20 on: May 30, 2017, 08:47:26 PM »
'tis interesting that you could duplicate it.... and even more interesting the prinergy doesnt do it. I dont use prinergy so cant do that.
I guess ps the file through distiller fixes the issue but what does concern me is if I miss seeing it... and that is always possible.

I wonder if it is something I should ask the preps people about? do i really wanna go there... I have never had any contact with preps people.



Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #21 on: May 30, 2017, 08:51:32 PM »
Quote from: Farabomb link=msg=291280 date=1496149482

I would like to know as well seeing as I output PDFs for production out of preps all the time and I've never seen this. I may have to start watching out.

yeap... I have only seen it twice now, but there may have been a few times I have missed it too!

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36795
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #22 on: May 30, 2017, 08:55:56 PM »
Quote from: DPSprint date=1496191646 link=msg=291307

'tis interesting that you could duplicate it.... and even more interesting the prinergy doesnt do it. I dont use prinergy so cant do that.
I guess ps the file through distiller fixes the issue but what does concern me is if I miss seeing it... and that is always possible.

I wonder if it is something I should ask the preps people about? do i really wanna go there... I have never had any contact with preps people.


One thing you might want to try is instead of saving a PDF straight out or Preps is to instead output a postscript file and distill it. Preps was originally built for postscript so it may work.

I am using Preps 7.5 and it did it the same as it did for you. Possibly might not doing it in Preps 8 but I don't have that yet.

If you have support for Preps I would definitely go there and see what they say.
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline mattbeals

  • Just a dude
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 885
  • Gender: Male
    • Matt Beals
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #23 on: May 30, 2017, 09:39:58 PM »
This is the test 3.pdf. If you have an original send me a link.
Matt Beals

Everything I say is my own personal opinion and has nothing to do with my employer or their views.

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #24 on: May 30, 2017, 10:06:58 PM »
Quote from: Joe date=1496192156 link=msg=291309

Quote from: DPSprint date=1496191646 link=msg=291307

'tis interesting that you could duplicate it.... and even more interesting the prinergy doesnt do it. I dont use prinergy so cant do that.
I guess ps the file through distiller fixes the issue but what does concern me is if I miss seeing it... and that is always possible.

I wonder if it is something I should ask the preps people about? do i really wanna go there... I have never had any contact with preps people.


One thing you might want to try is instead of saving a PDF straight out or Preps is to instead output a postscript file and distill it. Preps was originally built for postscript so it may work.

I am using Preps 7.5 and it did it the same as it did for you. Possibly might not doing it in Preps 8 but I don't have that yet.

If you have support for Preps I would definitely go there and see what they say.

Ok tried the ps and distiller idea and still got same bad result.

It would be nice to know what the issue is so I am going to attempt to contact through Kodak partner place website... wish me luck!

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #25 on: May 30, 2017, 10:11:16 PM »
Quote from: mattbeals link=msg=291310 date=1496194798

This is the test 3.pdf. If you have an original send me a link.

I can send a transfer link for the file (its too big for here), what email address?

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36795
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #26 on: May 30, 2017, 10:21:14 PM »
Quote from: DPSprint date=1496196418 link=msg=291311

Ok tried the ps and distiller idea and still got same bad result.

It would be nice to know what the issue is so I am going to attempt to contact through Kodak partner place website... wish me luck!


Hmmmm....so the PDF has to be modified before placing it into Preps. Sounds like Preps isn't understanding the vignettes properly.
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #27 on: May 30, 2017, 11:07:45 PM »
Quote from: Joe link=msg=291314 date=1496197274


Hmmmm....so the PDF has to be modified before placing it into Preps. Sounds like Preps isn't understanding the vignettes properly.

I am thinking a bit along those lines as well.
I wish i could find the earlier job we had this issue with but it was months ago and I thought it was just a dud client file causing the issue, hense I did no more about it when i found how to fix it... and it was much more obvious with that file... the vignette seemed to spread across the entire page, instead of being contained within its frame on the page and duplicated, hard to explain, I will try to locate it.

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36795
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #28 on: May 31, 2017, 08:25:24 AM »
I would be interested in what Kodak says. Keep us updated.
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Preps 7: vignettes not imposing properly
« Reply #29 on: September 24, 2017, 05:50:44 PM »
Update:.... nothing from kodak, sent them a couple of messages but simply no response except from the automated messaging system
of course what would I expect huh?

Just curious, I see preps is up to V8 now... anyone using it?
We are on 7 and OSX 10.10.5 and I probably should upgrade OS as well
« Last Edit: September 24, 2017, 05:53:52 PM by DPSprint »