Recent

Author Topic: Connecting to Dell Server  (Read 1570 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7751
  • Gender: Female
Connecting to Dell Server
« on: August 29, 2017, 09:54:21 AM »
I'm fully up and running from the move :banana:

The only thing is I connect to the company Server to access a share
It's not my server I only use to access files from "them"
since the move I cannot connect to it.
So It's Mac to a Dell Server

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 37017
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Connecting to Dell Server
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2017, 10:04:19 AM »
How did you used to do it? OS version on server? IP address of server?
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 37017
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Connecting to Dell Server
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2017, 10:12:37 AM »
Have you tried Finder===>Go===>Connect to server...

smb://IPADDRESSofSERVER


Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7751
  • Gender: Female
Re: Connecting to Dell Server
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2017, 10:56:04 AM »
Yes it won't connect, I do believe it is because they don't want
people connecting to that server and I was only allowed access to that share
they had a guy connect me to that share, and the link is now broken, because of the move.
He had me connected somehow through my old mac, (It had my old macs password)
I think I need to get into that server, and allow a user.
I do believe this is a management problem :laugh:
Thanks!

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 37017
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Connecting to Dell Server
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2017, 11:09:23 AM »
Try opening ===> Macintosh HD/System/Library/CoreServices/Applications/Network Utility

Click on the Ping tab and enter the IP address and then click the Ping button.

After 10 tries if it say "10 packets transmitted, 10 packets received" it means your Mac can see that server. If you see "Request Timeout" messages it will mean either that server is not on the network, they have changed the IP address, or you are on a different subnet than the server.
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7751
  • Gender: Female
Re: Connecting to Dell Server
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2017, 12:08:48 PM »
10 packets transmitted 0 packets received
Thanks Joe!
learned something!

I must be on a different subnet, cuz all the other things you said are ok
I will report back

Offline frailer

  • Sydney, OZ.
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 11756
  • Gender: Male
  • Older, and digitally challenged
Re: Connecting to Dell Server
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2017, 08:50:42 PM »
Quote from: Joe date=1504015957 link=msg=293733

Have you tried Finder===>Go===>Connect to server...

smb://IPADDRESSofSERVER

IT guy did a whistlestop through pp yesterday cos he was up here upgrading the printshop's modem. 
I think he was quietly impressed when this old guy got in there quickly to try and hook up to his new 'company VPN file access'. 
:tutoredbyjoe:    :laugh:
Fujifilm XMF/AdobeCC/PitStop Pro/Black Magic/ScreenPlateRite_Fujifilm ZP processless. 28" Komoris  |  Forgotten good guys: Dennis Ritchie, Burrell Smith, Bill Atkinson, Richard Stallman
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Too old for this.. but.. there's that question of income. And lack of it if I stop.
~~~~~~

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7751
  • Gender: Female
Re: Connecting to Dell Server
« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2017, 12:12:34 PM »
It was the subnet!

:tutoredbyjoe:  :laugh:

Offline frailer

  • Sydney, OZ.
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 11756
  • Gender: Male
  • Older, and digitally challenged
Re: Connecting to Dell Server
« Reply #8 on: August 31, 2017, 07:52:42 PM »
Quote from: Tracy date=1504195954 link=msg=293804

It was the subnet!

:tutoredbyjoe:  :laugh:

Thinking a bumper sticker...
Fujifilm XMF/AdobeCC/PitStop Pro/Black Magic/ScreenPlateRite_Fujifilm ZP processless. 28" Komoris  |  Forgotten good guys: Dennis Ritchie, Burrell Smith, Bill Atkinson, Richard Stallman
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Too old for this.. but.. there's that question of income. And lack of it if I stop.
~~~~~~