Recent

Author Topic: Acrobat excessive RAM usage  (Read 10762 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Slappy

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4045
  • Gender: Male
  • Come On. Fhqwhgads.
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #120 on: October 10, 2018, 11:15:48 PM »
I only noticed that I got the DC Update because all of my PDF icons looked funny one morning. Co-workers thought I was seeing things, until they got it a day later too, totally without warning. Thanks Obama Adobe!!
A little diddie ‘bout black 'n cyan...two reflective colors doin’ the best they can.

Online Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36588
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #121 on: October 11, 2018, 12:36:01 AM »
You haven't noticed opening a PDF with output preview open and things look like they are missing? Well now you have something to look forward too.
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 452
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #122 on: October 11, 2018, 04:02:15 PM »
Quote from: Joe link=msg=302980 date=1539232561

You haven't noticed opening a PDF with output preview open and things look like they are missing? Well now you have something to look forward too.

yeap thats a great new feature

:strangle:   :death:

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 452
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #123 on: October 11, 2018, 04:04:18 PM »
and funnily enough thats how all this excess ram usage started.
sept 1 2017, after a stealthy acrobat update, and it was suddenly major crashville every time i used it... so i am guessing it was some conflict between acrobat and something in my user prefs.... f..k knows what

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7624
  • Gender: Female
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #124 on: October 12, 2018, 10:57:16 AM »
I just started getting this message in Acro, I found on a forum to rename the plugin for reading
but that didn't stop it, anyone know how to get rid of this?

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7624
  • Gender: Female
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #125 on: October 12, 2018, 11:41:05 AM »
I'm unsure about selecting don't show this dialog again
I don't want the whole thing not just not showing the dialog

I think I found the fix in preferences, turned off assistive technology
« Last Edit: October 12, 2018, 11:46:58 AM by Tracy »

Offline david

  • WTF?
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 15052
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #126 on: October 12, 2018, 12:36:41 PM »
is that like an emotional support squirrel in Acrobat?

:rotf:
Prepress guy - doin' jobs one at a time

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7624
  • Gender: Female
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #127 on: October 12, 2018, 12:43:44 PM »
I think so! Not sure How it got turned on.

Online Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36588
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #128 on: October 12, 2018, 12:51:51 PM »
I'm shocked you never ran into that before. I got rid of the annoying dialog box popping up by setting it like this. No idea why those settings work though.

[attach width=400]19064[/attach]
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7624
  • Gender: Female
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #129 on: October 12, 2018, 03:53:21 PM »
1st time, it was after I opened a pdf that one of the salesman created

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7624
  • Gender: Female
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #130 on: October 12, 2018, 03:55:16 PM »
what the heck Joe?
I don't have a category named Reading-what gives?

Online Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36588
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #131 on: October 12, 2018, 04:19:33 PM »
Are you on n Acrobat DC...latest version?
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Online Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36588
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #132 on: October 12, 2018, 04:21:15 PM »
Quote from: Tracy link=msg=303031 date=1539374116

what the heck Joe?
I don't have a category named Reading-what gives?


Quote from: Tracy link=msg=303014 date=1539356236
I found on a forum to rename the plugin for reading


Could that be because you renamed the "Reading" plug-in?
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7624
  • Gender: Female
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #133 on: October 12, 2018, 04:24:46 PM »
 :laugh: prolly

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7624
  • Gender: Female
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #134 on: October 12, 2018, 04:32:43 PM »
Got my Reading back in my list

I got rid of mine by unchecking Enable Assistive Technology Support
just fyi