Recent

Author Topic: Acrobat excessive RAM usage  (Read 10385 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« on: October 04, 2017, 02:11:01 PM »
I have got a bit annoyed with this issue with acrobat and seemingly the only way to stop it is to install and run acrobat X instead
I found a thread on the adobe site, and posted on that and adobe were the usual unhelpful to everyone else who posted. So i started a bug report as well and have had a couple more come out of the woodwork with the same issue... and it seems a few things have been tried to no avail.
Figured i would post on here under a new thread in case others have the issue and want to add their thoughts and vote.

https://acrobat.uservoice.com/forums/590923-acrobat-for-windows-and-mac/suggestions/31664974-acrobat-cc-excessive-ram-usage?tracking_code=efbd30a6704418ddf7db113578e67f10

my work around is to restart acrobat a lot... i.e. maybe hourly or so if I'm barely using it, maybe every 15 mins if I'm using it a lot




Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36521
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2017, 02:29:56 PM »
What version of Mac OS are you using? I am not seeing this with Acrobat DC on Mac OS Sierra 10.12.6.
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2017, 02:42:30 PM »
Im using Yosemite 10.10.5, I did think about upgrading but others are using Sierra and have the same issue.

"Jan commented  ·  October 04, 2017 21:37  ·

Exact same problem here.
On a workstation with Yosemite installed we had this problem. In the meantime this workstation has being switched for a brand new iMac with Sierra. Same problem again with Acrobat Pro DC.

We uninstalled Acrobat with the official uninstaller and manually removed the remaining files and folders related to Acrobat. Then restarted the iMac and reinstalled Acrobat Pro. The problem remaines.
Adobe please fix this memory leak!"

Offline Possum

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3962
  • Gender: Female
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2017, 03:29:37 PM »
That's just a new feature.
No Facebook, no iAnything. What am I missing?
2009 Mac Mini, OSX 10.6

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2017, 03:40:31 PM »
Quote from: Possum link=msg=294453 date=1507145377

That's just a new feature.

yeah been at work for 1.5 hours and restarted acrobat (and pitstop ofcourse) 6 times already
Im lovin it!

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36521
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2017, 04:17:44 PM »
Really odd that I'm not seeing that issue. Not that I want to of course. ;D

Just wondering one other thing...what version of Pitstop are you using? I have Pitstop 2017. And have you tried moving the Pitstop plug-ins out of their current location to see if it happens without Pitstop being loaded?
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Ear

  • Fiya wata
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 16305
  • Gender: Male
  • Nice Marmot, Man
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2017, 04:38:18 PM »
I'm not seeing it either. New iMac, Sierra, Acrobat DC and Pitstop. I do have a lot of RAM tho, and I know the OS gets more out of virtual RAM with the SSD...
"... profile says he's a seven-foot tall ex-basketball pro, Hindu guru drag queen alien." ~Jet Black

Offline Ear

  • Fiya wata
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 16305
  • Gender: Male
  • Nice Marmot, Man
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2017, 04:40:39 PM »
... reading that link, I see the OP only has 16gb of RAM. That seems low, by modern OS and CC needs. I have 32gb and am looking at the OWC 64gb upgrade.
"... profile says he's a seven-foot tall ex-basketball pro, Hindu guru drag queen alien." ~Jet Black

Offline Ear

  • Fiya wata
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 16305
  • Gender: Male
  • Nice Marmot, Man
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2017, 04:45:06 PM »
Here's a snapshot of my Activity Monitor. This is under moderate usage. I get a lot heavier and it keeps up.

I keep saying, load up on RAM and get an SSD. Programs these days use a lot of processing power and 16gb just won't cut it anymore.
"... profile says he's a seven-foot tall ex-basketball pro, Hindu guru drag queen alien." ~Jet Black

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36521
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2017, 05:11:01 PM »
Quote from: Ear date=1507149639 link=msg=294462

... reading that link, I see the OP only has 16gb of RAM. That seems low, by modern OS and CC needs. I have 32gb and am looking at the OWC 64gb upgrade.


I only have 16 GB and a Fusion drive instead of SSD and I'm not seeing the issue. And right now I have Photoshop, Acrobat, InDesign, Prinergy Workshop, Prinergy VPS, and FilemakerPro running plus email and web browsers. They have all been running for over 4 hours. Acrobat is using 575.9 mb of ram sitting idle right now. (a little over a half gb ram)
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2017, 05:40:32 PM »
This is a screen grab, I will have to quit it in a a few more minutes, usually by the time it climbs to 60Gbs. Has been open for about ten mins and I have done work on 2 vector files, both now closed... it just keeps climbing upwards.
And bear in mind this suddenly started on sept 1 2017... never had an issue before then




Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2017, 05:48:10 PM »
and ten minutes later, and I havent opened or worked on any files.


Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2017, 05:54:52 PM »
and I didnt even make it to 60 GB this time

And If i dont force quit quickly, then indesign and everything else will crash and I will have to restart.

I did look at some of the suggestions the 'Adobe' person recommended on the other thread
https://forums.adobe.com/thread/2377909

but none work (except reinstalling acrobat x1) and some are for PC versions

« Last Edit: October 04, 2017, 06:07:37 PM by DPSprint »

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36521
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2017, 06:02:32 PM »
You may have answered this previously but do you have any other 3rd party plug-ins in Acrobat other than Pitstop?
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline DPSprint

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
Re: Acrobat excessive RAM usage
« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2017, 06:27:38 PM »
nope only pitstop