Author Topic: Mojave (and Acrobat DC)  (Read 652 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DigiCorn

  • A legend in my own mind
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 14769
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Clerks.
Mojave (and Acrobat DC)
« on: October 09, 2018, 01:22:29 PM »
Partner at work just upgraded to Mojave, and so far smooth sailing. Anyone have any known issues with Mojave?

Acrobat DC is a different issue. On Sierra, the upgrade on DC was annoying, but functional. On Mojave, it seems to be glitchy - doesn't display previews on "fit to page," when printing, crashes, etc. Anyone have any issues with DC on Mojave?

I'm still on Sierra.
"I'm not addicted to cocaine. I just like the way it smells."
– Richard Pryor

“Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”
― Ernest Hemingway

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36414
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Mojave (and Acrobat DC)
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2018, 02:24:56 PM »
No issues for me with Acrobat DC (last week they released a new version) and Mojave.
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline DigiCorn

  • A legend in my own mind
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 14769
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Clerks.
Re: Mojave (and Acrobat DC)
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2018, 04:32:41 PM »
Quote from: Joe link=msg=302946 date=1539109496

No issues for me with Acrobat DC (last week they released a new version) and Mojave.
Try to take a LARGE job and print fit-to-page and look at the preview. Works on mine on Sierra but not on my partner's on Mojave.
"I'm not addicted to cocaine. I just like the way it smells."
– Richard Pryor

“Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”
― Ernest Hemingway

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36414
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Mojave (and Acrobat DC)
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2018, 04:51:24 PM »
I will have to try at home on Mojave. Haven't dared to put it on a work machine.
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7575
  • Gender: Female
Re: Mojave (and Acrobat DC)
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2019, 02:24:43 PM »
Since updating my computer Acro DC is taking a long time to load when I first start it up
after that it is fine, any solutions?

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36414
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Mojave (and Acrobat DC)
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2019, 02:29:43 PM »
I installed Mojave on my work Mac a few weeks ago. Wish I hadn't. Everything is slower. Double click any file type and it takes at least 5 seconds before anything happens including opening PDF's into Acrobat. It actually feels like Apple has built in a 5 second timer before it does any task. >:(
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline david

  • WTF?
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 14986
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
Re: Mojave (and Acrobat DC)
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2019, 02:43:29 PM »
Acrobat DC is weird on mine too.
When my mac fires up, it "launches" Acrobat, for foreverrrrrrr. I see a window pop up.
But it really doesn't launch. It just does a "preload" of something, then goes away.
I then manually start all my programs ('cause I hate to wait for stuff to start automatically).
Prepress guy - doin' jobs one at a time

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7575
  • Gender: Female
Re: Mojave (and Acrobat DC)
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2019, 02:51:09 PM »
Yeah it looks like the pdf is opened up, but don't try and click something!!
It's like open Acro and go get a cup of coffee!

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36414
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Mojave (and Acrobat DC)
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2019, 03:16:59 PM »
Well my starts fine. It then sucks every PDF I open. I'll trade my problem for yours.
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7575
  • Gender: Female
Re: Mojave (and Acrobat DC)
« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2019, 03:24:19 PM »
what the heck? is this a new problem?

Offline born2print

  • Post count: purtygood
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 11758
  • Gender: Male
Re: Mojave (and Acrobat DC)
« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2019, 03:24:39 PM »
Getting sick of these "down-grades"
6-core processor, 16GB ram... and rainbow pinwheels all the time. What are you busy doing that I have to wait?
Quote from: Tracy link=msg=301939 date=1534265274
I get back to my dept and I'm all bleep you and bleep this bleep :laugh:

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36414
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Mojave (and Acrobat DC)
« Reply #11 on: February 21, 2019, 04:16:48 PM »
Quote from: Tracy link=msg=305386 date=1550780659

what the heck? is this a new problem?


I attribute mine to Mojave. It was fine before I made the brilliant leap. :sarcasm:

Speaking of brilliance...I just got a job in with PDF's made from CS2. The first version of InDesign was 1.0 and it was a disaster. 1.5 was somewhat useable. V2 was the first nail in Quark's coffin. That was in about 2002 or 2003. Needless to say the PDF was a version 1.3 and everything was flattened to crap and back. Way to stay up with the times customer. Way to go!

:facepalm:
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline david

  • WTF?
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 14986
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
Re: Mojave (and Acrobat DC)
« Reply #12 on: February 21, 2019, 04:21:46 PM »
place that pdf inExcel and it should work just fine.
All the printers I use don't have any problems....


:shoots_self:
Prepress guy - doin' jobs one at a time

Offline Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36414
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Mojave (and Acrobat DC)
« Reply #13 on: February 21, 2019, 04:43:52 PM »
Quote from: david link=msg=305391 date=1550784106

place that pdf inExcel and it should work just fine.
All the printers I use don't have any problems....


:shoots_self:


Thanks. I placed it in Excel and all of a sudden I was surrounded by unicorns pooping Twinkies. All is better now.

Twinkie anyone?
Mac OS 10.14.3 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline born2print

  • Post count: purtygood
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 11758
  • Gender: Male
Re: Mojave (and Acrobat DC)
« Reply #14 on: February 21, 2019, 05:03:06 PM »
No thanks, trying to quit  :smiley:
Quote from: Tracy link=msg=301939 date=1534265274
I get back to my dept and I'm all bleep you and bleep this bleep :laugh: