Recent

Author Topic: Transparency ISsue with 4color PSD on top of Spot Color Background  (Read 1429 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rickself

  • Paranormal Prepress Guy
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • Gender: Male
Re: Transparency ISsue with 4color PSD on top of Spot Color Background
« Reply #15 on: January 22, 2019, 12:38:06 PM »
Holy CRAP!
Uh, no we didn't.
At least that would have given the powers that be a good reason for no Christmas bonus last year!!
Rick Self, Prepress Oldie
G5 Quad-Core Intel Sierra  HP DesignJet Z6 44in   RICOH Pro C5200S
Fiery BCE5  Xitron/Harlequin 8.3   Screen 8000II   Azura Plates   Komori L640

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7653
  • Gender: Female
Re: Transparency ISsue with 4color PSD on top of Spot Color Background
« Reply #16 on: January 22, 2019, 12:39:08 PM »
I don't think we paid anything for ours, but it really isn't worth it to me
they need to do some work on that.

Do you see a color difference printing to the Ricoh with spot and process?

Offline DigiCorn

  • Terrorizing humans since 1971
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 14918
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Clerks.
Re: Transparency ISsue with 4color PSD on top of Spot Color Background
« Reply #17 on: January 22, 2019, 12:39:22 PM »
Are you running CWS 5 or CWS 6?
"Selling my soul would be a lot easier if I could just find it."
– Nikki Sixx

“Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”
― Ernest Hemingway

Offline rickself

  • Paranormal Prepress Guy
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • Gender: Male
Re: Transparency ISsue with 4color PSD on top of Spot Color Background
« Reply #18 on: January 22, 2019, 12:42:10 PM »
Quote from: Tracy link=msg=304736 date=1548178748

I don't think we paid anything for ours, but it really isn't worth it to me
they need to do some work on that.

Do you see a color difference printing to the Ricoh with spot and process?

The colors are really, really close. Close enough I think for a big agency to accept. I just hate giving in to compromise.
Rick Self, Prepress Oldie
G5 Quad-Core Intel Sierra  HP DesignJet Z6 44in   RICOH Pro C5200S
Fiery BCE5  Xitron/Harlequin 8.3   Screen 8000II   Azura Plates   Komori L640

Offline Tracy

  • Ninja Master
  • **
  • Posts: 7653
  • Gender: Female
Re: Transparency ISsue with 4color PSD on top of Spot Color Background
« Reply #19 on: January 22, 2019, 12:43:02 PM »
yeah I get it, I don't know how many times I've tried to match a spot on the copiers!

Offline rickself

  • Paranormal Prepress Guy
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • Gender: Male
Re: Transparency ISsue with 4color PSD on top of Spot Color Background
« Reply #20 on: January 22, 2019, 12:43:29 PM »
Quote from: DigiCorn link=msg=304737 date=1548178762

Are you running CWS 5 or CWS 6?
I'm using 6.3.0
Rick Self, Prepress Oldie
G5 Quad-Core Intel Sierra  HP DesignJet Z6 44in   RICOH Pro C5200S
Fiery BCE5  Xitron/Harlequin 8.3   Screen 8000II   Azura Plates   Komori L640

Online Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36767
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Transparency ISsue with 4color PSD on top of Spot Color Background
« Reply #21 on: January 22, 2019, 01:05:28 PM »
Quote from: Tracy link=msg=304736 date=1548178748

I don't think we paid anything for ours, but it really isn't worth it to me
they need to do some work on that.

Do you see a color difference printing to the Ricoh with spot and process?


If you have it...you paid for it somewhere in the process. ;D
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Online Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36767
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Transparency ISsue with 4color PSD on top of Spot Color Background
« Reply #22 on: January 22, 2019, 01:06:21 PM »
Quote from: rickself link=msg=304738 date=1548178930

Quote from: Tracy link=msg=304736 date=1548178748

I don't think we paid anything for ours, but it really isn't worth it to me
they need to do some work on that.

Do you see a color difference printing to the Ricoh with spot and process?

The colors are really, really close. Close enough I think for a big agency to accept. I just hate giving in to compromise.


Spot colors, transparency, and a Fiery RIP is a recipe for disaster.
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline rickself

  • Paranormal Prepress Guy
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • Gender: Male
Re: Transparency ISsue with 4color PSD on top of Spot Color Background
« Reply #23 on: January 22, 2019, 01:43:28 PM »
What do you know, Joe?
Enlighten me, please! Maybe I should try to bypass the Fiery?
Rick Self, Prepress Oldie
G5 Quad-Core Intel Sierra  HP DesignJet Z6 44in   RICOH Pro C5200S
Fiery BCE5  Xitron/Harlequin 8.3   Screen 8000II   Azura Plates   Komori L640

Online Joe

  • Master of Nothing
  • Administrator
  • Ninja Warlord
  • *****
  • Posts: 36767
  • Gender: Male
    • B4Print.com
Re: Transparency ISsue with 4color PSD on top of Spot Color Background
« Reply #24 on: January 22, 2019, 01:51:10 PM »
I don't think you can bypass the Fiery if you want to print to that machine. As others have said, convert the spot to process and live with it.

Also have a read here: Transparency & PMS Spot Colors – How to Solve the Conflict for Print
Mac OS 10.14.6 Mojave | Prinergy 8.2 | Adobe Creative Cloud 2019 | Two Luscher XPose 160 CTP units

Prepress: One who does precision guess work based on unreliable data provided by those of questionable knowledge.

Offline mc hristel

  • Huh? What?
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
  • Gender: Male
Re: Transparency ISsue with 4color PSD on top of Spot Color Background
« Reply #25 on: January 23, 2019, 08:00:34 PM »
Spot colors and transparency have never been a good combination. If I remember correctly, back 10-15 years ago when transparency was newer and .ps and by extension .pdf didn't support it, you would always get the dreaded black box (sometimes the white box) where a spot and transparency overlapped. I think because the transparency was always 4 color and the spot was well, a spot color, the RIPs didn't know what to do and handled it badly. The modern RIPs are better at rendering these things now, but apparently Fiery still has some issues.

Still, I don't think I would feed anything with a spot color to a Fiery RIP. Those things are so unpredictable, unless your Ricoh is using spot color toners I'd convert all your spot colors to process before they get anywhere near the Fiery.

Offline swampymarsh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
Re: Transparency ISsue with 4color PSD on top of Spot Color Background
« Reply #26 on: January 24, 2019, 01:25:56 AM »
Rather than having a transparent image placed over the vector spot background, you could include all or part of the spot background in Photoshop as a spot colour channel. You of course then need the RIP to process the vector spot and raster spot the same, otherwise you will see an edge and may need to extend the spot background in Photoshop so that it can fully replace the vector spot background object. Yes, likely swapping one problem for another, but worth a try for giggles!
« Last Edit: January 24, 2019, 06:36:57 AM by swampymarsh »

Offline pspdfppdfxhd

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2583
  • Gender: Male
Re: Transparency ISsue with 4color PSD on top of Spot Color Background
« Reply #27 on: January 24, 2019, 07:45:14 AM »
Quote from: rickself link=msg=304720 date=1548173424

The PSD image has a bounding box transparency issue



Hmmm, the problem might be the chicken fat in the ingredients.

Offline rickself

  • Paranormal Prepress Guy
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • Gender: Male
Re: Transparency ISsue with 4color PSD on top of Spot Color Background
« Reply #28 on: January 24, 2019, 08:38:55 AM »
Quote from: pspdfppdfxhd link=msg=304786 date=1548333914

Quote from: rickself link=msg=304720 date=1548173424

The PSD image has a bounding box transparency issue



Hmmm, the problem might be the chicken fat in the ingredients.
I like the new life these threads take on when the issue is old hat!
:rotf:
Rick Self, Prepress Oldie
G5 Quad-Core Intel Sierra  HP DesignJet Z6 44in   RICOH Pro C5200S
Fiery BCE5  Xitron/Harlequin 8.3   Screen 8000II   Azura Plates   Komori L640

Offline rickself

  • Paranormal Prepress Guy
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • Gender: Male
Re: Transparency ISsue with 4color PSD on top of Spot Color Background
« Reply #29 on: January 24, 2019, 08:43:01 AM »
Quote from: swampymarsh link=msg=304784 date=1548311156

Rather than having a transparent image placed over the vector spot background, you could include all or part of the spot background in Photoshop as a spot colour channel. You of course then need the RIP to process the vector spot and raster spot the same, otherwise you will see an edge and may need to extend the spot background in Photoshop so that it can fully replace the vector spot background object. Yes, likely swapping one problem for another, but worth a try for giggles!
I'm still working on adding a spot background in Photoshop. I also think that's the way to go if the client insists on using InDesign. Illustrator is my main forté. I've tried YouTube for good tutorials but haven't got there yet.
Rick Self, Prepress Oldie
G5 Quad-Core Intel Sierra  HP DesignJet Z6 44in   RICOH Pro C5200S
Fiery BCE5  Xitron/Harlequin 8.3   Screen 8000II   Azura Plates   Komori L640