Recent

Author Topic: Not sure how they did this...  (Read 151 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wonderings

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 336
Not sure how they did this...
« on: June 04, 2019, 03:27:05 PM »
Working with a file that a designer did a few years back. Made a ton of alterations and am at the finish line.

One thing I cannot figure out is this dashed line that goes from the item to the price. It is a font, the shape is part of the font "Susanna". Not a stroke, line or anything else. When I highlight it it selects as if it were just one character. I need to mimic this line spacing with this font in one small portion but for the life of me cannot figure out how they did it.

If I just use add a bunch of periods the line is much tighter. I can try and space out with the character tool to mimic it, but it is still not the same. Anyone have any idea of this is done? Again it registers as one character. Character formatting is normal, spacing is at 0. Is it a special character that spaces it out?

Screen Shot 2019-06-04 at 3.25.40 PM by B P, on Flickr

This is in the latest version of Indesign on a Mac.

Offline AaronH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
  • Gender: Male
Re: Not sure how they did this...
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2019, 03:35:53 PM »
Thats a custom tab. With that selected go to Type then Tabs it'll bring up a popup window and you can see what they entered in there for the "Leader".
Mac & Windows | XMF | Fiery | Oris

Offline DigiCorn

  • Terrorizing humans since 1971
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 14811
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Clerks.
Re: Not sure how they did this...
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2019, 03:41:28 PM »
I concur with Aaron
"Selling my soul would be a lot easier if I could just find it."
– Nikki Sixx

“Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”
― Ernest Hemingway

Offline wonderings

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 336
Re: Not sure how they did this...
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2019, 04:02:46 PM »
Ok, I went to tabs, pop up window opened. I selected one that was done before and could not see any settings at all that differed from selecting nothing.

Am I missing something here? This is a screen shot of one that is done already that I am trying to mimic

Screen Shot 2019-06-04 at 4.00.44 PM by B P, on Flickr

Offline david

  • WTF?
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 15026
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
Re: Not sure how they did this...
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2019, 04:32:43 PM »
select the tab marker
Prepress guy - doin' jobs one at a time

Offline wonderings

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 336
Re: Not sure how they did this...
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2019, 04:37:56 PM »
select the tab marker


perfect thanks. Don't think I ever would have stumbled on that on my own.