Recent

Author Topic: Acrobat Security  (Read 397 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DigiCorn

  • Terrorizing humans since 1971
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 14977
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Clerks.
Acrobat Security
« on: September 19, 2019, 03:20:51 PM »
I know the traditional way to encrypt a PDF with password, restrict/low res printing, etc., but I have a twist...

Is there a way to write a PDF directly from ID/Illy/PS to encrypt it with predetermined security in 1-step? I know I can make a .ps file and drop it on the Distiller and have it encoded with security, but it's still 2 steps (make the ps and distill it). Trying to minimize the effort here...
"Selling my soul would be a lot easier if I could just find it."
– Nikki Sixx

“Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”
― Ernest Hemingway

Offline david

  • WTF?
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 15131
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
Re: Acrobat Security
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2019, 03:34:51 PM »
try this
Prepress guy - doin' jobs one at a time

Offline Possum

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4131
  • Gender: Female
Re: Acrobat Security
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2019, 04:20:38 PM »
You can record actions in PS and Illy to do this. That's what I do in Illy. It saves it as a PDF with our usual password and proof settings and all that and closes the file. In Button Mode in the Actions palette, after that it's tap the button. I haven't done it in PS but I know you can. ID, I don't know.
No Facebook, no iAnything. What am I missing?
2009 Mac Mini, OSX 10.6

Offline DigiCorn

  • Terrorizing humans since 1971
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 14977
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Clerks.
Re: Acrobat Security
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2019, 04:35:36 PM »
Der!  :shoots_self:

I never thought to check there. Security DOES NOT show up as an option when using the Define-->Edit dropdown. It only shows up when you're using a pre-defined pdf output option.
"Selling my soul would be a lot easier if I could just find it."
– Nikki Sixx

“Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”
― Ernest Hemingway

Offline david

  • WTF?
  • Global Moderator
  • Supreme Ninja
  • *****
  • Posts: 15131
  • Gender: Male
  • arrrrrrrggg....
Re: Acrobat Security
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2019, 05:12:51 PM »
but you can take a pre-defined setting and then when you export a file using that setting, the security options will be there, you can set it up and then "save" that modified setting and it will keep the security settings.

Just tried it
Prepress guy - doin' jobs one at a time

Offline DigiCorn

  • Terrorizing humans since 1971
  • Supreme Ninja
  • ***
  • Posts: 14977
  • Gender: Male
  • There is no Dana, only Zul!
    • Clerks.
Re: Acrobat Security
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2019, 05:20:25 PM »
yup. you still have to type in a password and then confirm that password each and every time. oh well.
"Selling my soul would be a lot easier if I could just find it."
– Nikki Sixx

“Always do sober what you said you'd do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.”
― Ernest Hemingway

Offline Possum

  • Ninja Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4131
  • Gender: Female
Re: Acrobat Security
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2019, 01:46:30 PM »
If you set it up as an Action in PS or Illy, you don't have to do that. It does everything in one swell foop. I've been doing our proofs that way for years.

InDesign, well... I use a hot folder in Distiller I set up for that.
No Facebook, no iAnything. What am I missing?
2009 Mac Mini, OSX 10.6